Vanier scholar explores the impact of head injury on the brain's ability to function

What really happens to our brains after a concussion?

Alexander 'Sandy' Wright is trying to find out with the Integrative Sports Concussion Research Group at the University of British Columbia Okanagan. While concussions have received a lot of press coverage, it's still an area that isn't quite understood by medical professionals.

"I endured a substantial concussion after having already begun my PhD work," Sandy says, "which really shifted my perspective on the value of the work we're doing, and what we're trying to accomplish."

Sandy has been an athlete in various sports all of his life. This sparked an interest in science and the human body when he was growing up.

He completed his BSc in kinesiology at Simon Fraser University in 2009 and his MSc in the Department of Kinesiology at the University of Waterloo in 2011. As an MD/PhD candidate, Sandy is currently working with Drs. Paul van Donkelaar, Phil Ainslie, Brad Monteleone and Alexander Rauscher to explore the relationships between how badly athletes hit their heads and the changes in control of brain's blood flow after a concussion. This may, in turn, have an impact on the brain's ability to function overall.

Sandy will evaluate 75-100 athletes before and after a mild traumatic head injury. Using an ultrasound machine, he will first evaluate the blood flow in their brains, while they do various things, such as reading, multitasking, and exercising. While the athletes are competing in their respective sports, Sandy will then evaluate how often they experience head trauma. Due to the aggressive nature of their respective sports, he thinks that 20 of these athletes will suffer a concussion. Should this happen, he will conduct the same evaluation tests 72 hours, 2 weeks and 1 month after their diagnosis. Sandy will also use new imaging techniques to help identify what parts of the brain were affected.

"Our research results will help improve upon our current diagnostic and management protocols for this injury," he says.  "The information we gain from this research should help towards the development of objective tools that health professionals can turn to when working with patients, including the possibility of new imaging techniques."

Sandy is honoured and humbled to be a Vanier Canada Graduate Scholar. In addition to providing new opportunities for collaboration, the award has also helped others believe in the value of his work. In his opinion, this belief system is critical for any other students who are seeking funding through the Vanier program.

"Dedicate time towards becoming an excellent communicator, both on paper and in conversation," he says. "Beyond that, be yourself.  If you're a motivated individual who takes initiative, let your passion speak for itself."

Date modified:

Un boursier Vanier explore les effets des blessures à la tête sur le fonctionnement du cerveau

Qu'arrive-t-il vraiment au cerveau après une commotion cérébrale?

Alexander (Sandy) Wright tente de le découvrir avec le Groupe de recherche intégrative sur les commotions cérébrales dans le sport, à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique en Okanagan. Malgré l'abondante couverture médiatique sur le sujet, les commotions demeurent mal comprises par le milieu médical.

« J'ai subi une importante commotion après avoir entrepris mon doctorat, et cela a transformé ma vision de la valeur de notre travail et de ce que nous tentons d'accomplir », confie M. Wright.

Ayant excellé dans divers sports durant toute sa vie, M. Wright a développé un intérêt pour la science et le corps humain à partir d'un jeune âge.

Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en kinésiologie de l'Université Simon Fraser en 2009, ainsi qu'une maîtrise dans ce même domaine de l'Université de Waterloo en 2011. En tant que candidat à un doctorat de médecine, il travaille actuellement avec les Drs Paul van Donkelaar, Phil Ainslie, Brad Monteleone et Alexander Rauscher à étudier la relation entre la gravité des coups à la tête reçus par les athlètes et les changements dans la régulation de la circulation sanguine dans le cerveau après une commotion, lesquels pourraient avoir une incidence sur le fonctionnement général du cerveau.

M. Wright évaluera 75 à 100 athlètes avant et après un léger traumatisme crânien. À l'aide d'un appareil à ultrasons, il évaluera d'abord la circulation sanguine dans leur cerveau pendant qu'ils s'adonnent à différentes activités, comme la lecture, l'exercice et l'exécution de plusieurs tâches simultanées. Il mesurera ensuite combien de fois ils subissent des traumatismes crâniens pendant la pratique de leurs sports respectifs. En raison de la rudesse de ces sports, M. Wright pense qu'une vingtaine des athlètes subiront une commotion. Chaque fois que cela se produira, il effectuera les mêmes tests 72 heures, deux semaines et un mois après le diagnostic. Il se servira de nouvelles techniques d'imagerie afin de mieux cerner les zones touchées du cerveau.

« Les résultats de nos recherches contribueront à l'amélioration des protocoles de diagnostic et de gestion de ce type de blessure », précise-t-il. « Les connaissances que nous produirons devraient être utiles à la conception d'outils objectifs – peut-être même de nouvelles techniques d'imagerie – dont les professionnels de la santé pourront se servir avec leurs patients. »

M. Wright se dit honoré et reconnaissant d'avoir obtenu une bourse d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier. En plus d'offrir de nouvelles possibilités de collaboration, cette récompense contribue aussi à convaincre les autres de la valeur de ses travaux. À son avis, cette conviction est essentielle à tout étudiant faisant une demande de bourse Vanier.

« Employez-vous à devenir un excellent communicateur, autant de vive voix que par écrit », conseille-t-il. « Pour le reste, soyez simplement vous-même. Si vous êtes une personne motivée qui prend des initiatives, laissez parler votre passion. »

Date de modification :