Vanier scholar studies whether socialism can still exist in Cuba through its ongoing movement towards the private sector

Photo courtesy of Vanessa Linares

Cuba is going through reform. Since 2008, President Raul Castro has permitted its real estate market to go public, increased the number of small and middle landowners to boost agriculture exports to other countries, allowed its small businesses to develop, and improved the ability for its residents to travel and work abroad. Recently, Castro renewed diplomatic ties with the United States of America (which were severed in 1961). As a result, U.S. President Barack Obama has, among other things, made it easier for Americans to visit Cuba, approved the use of U.S. credit and debit cards in Cuba, and let banks in both countries facilitate transactions.

With all of these changes, many people are questioning whether Cuba will hold on to socialist ideals and lean towards democracy. Daniel Salas-González, a 2014 Vanier Canada Graduate Scholar, is researching whether it is possible for the Cuban government to prevent the public from moving towards free speech and debate.

“My goal is to understand the mechanisms that limit or foster these debates for reform,” he says, “and under what circumstances they bring about desired or undesired results.”

A native of Cuba, Daniel holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism (2007) from the University of Havana and a Master of Arts in Cuban Cultural Processes (2011) from the Higher Institute of Arts in Havana. He is currently working on a PhD in sociology at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Daniel decided to study Cuba’s ongoing reform at Dalhousie because of the strength of the university’s academic exchange program and faculty. He also respects the Canadian political system.

“I always liked Canada as a country committed to peace and development with social justice,” he says. “To come here to work on my PhD was a dream come true.”

Daniel is a proud and grateful Vanier Scholar. He is studying the potential impact of social movements that could reform Cuba. This will be done by analyzing recent debates about social policy regarding racism in Cuba, the possibility of legal and financial changes within the Cuban film industry, and the impact of its artists and academics in building a democratic culture.

“I have a lot of recorded and processed material on most of these cases,” he says. “But things continue changing every day. Right now, I am visiting Cuba, and I want to make some contacts to follow up on the development of these debates.”

For students who want to pursue social science research in another country, Daniel has the following advice.

“It is a practical way of coming into contact with different ways of thinking and acquiring a plural set of references and points of comparison, which underpin innovative thinking in social sciences,” he says.

Date modified:

Un boursier Vanier étudie si le socialisme peut encore exister à Cuba malgré un mouvement continu vers le secteur privé

Photo - Avec la permission de
Vanessa Linares

Cuba traverse une phase de réforme. Depuis 2008, le président Raul Castro a autorisé l’ouverture du marché immobilier, a augmenté le nombre de petits et moyens propriétaires fonciers afin de stimuler les exportations de produits agricoles, a permis le développement des petites entreprises, et a facilité les déplacements des Cubains à l’étranger à des fins touristiques ou professionnelles. Dernièrement, le président Castro a rétabli les liens diplomatiques avec les États-Unis (É.-U.), lesquels avaient été rompus en 1961. En réponse, le président des É.-U. Barack Obama a notamment permis aux Américains de visiter Cuba plus facilement, a approuvé l’utilisation de cartes de crédit et de débit américaines à Cuba, et a autorisé la facilitation des opérations entre les banques des deux pays.

Tous ces changements en amènent beaucoup à se demander si Cuba conservera ses idéaux socialistes et se tournera vers la démocratie. Daniel Salas-González, lauréat d’une bourse d’études supérieures Vanier en 2014, tente de déterminer si le gouvernement de Cuba sera en mesure d’empêcher le passage à la liberté d’expression et au débat public au sein de sa population.

« Mon objectif est de comprendre les mécanismes qui entravent ou favorisent ces pourparlers de réforme, et les circonstances où ils débouchent sur des résultats souhaités ou non souhaités », explique-t-il.

Natif de Cuba, Daniel est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en journalisme (2007) de l’Université de La Havane et d’une maîtrise ès arts en processus culturels cubains (2011) de l’Institut supérieur des arts de La Havane. Il fait actuellement des études de doctorat en sociologie à l’Université Dalhousie à Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse).

Daniel a choisi d’étudier les réformes en cours à Cuba à partir de l’Université Dalhousie, en raison de la qualité du programme d’échanges universitaires et du corps professoral de l’université, et de son appréciation du système politique canadien.

« J’ai toujours aimé le Canada pour son engagement envers la paix et le développement, ainsi que son souci de justice sociale », confie-t-il. « J’ai réalisé un rêve en venant ici pour mes études de doctorat. »

Fier et reconnaissant de sa bourse Vanier, Daniel étudie l’impact potentiel des mouvements sociaux qui pourraient transformer Cuba. Pour ce faire, il analysera les débats récents sur les politiques sociales entourant le racisme à Cuba, la possibilité de changements au cadre juridique et financier régissant l’industrie cinématographique cubaine, et l’apport des artistes et des intellectuels cubains dans le développement d’une culture démocratique.

« J’ai accumulé et analysé beaucoup de documentation sur la plupart de ces enjeux », précise-t-il. « Mais les choses continuent de changer tous les jours. Je suis de passage à Cuba en ce moment, et je désire établir certains contacts pour suivre l’évolution des débats. »

Daniel aurait un conseil à donner aux étudiants qui désirent mener des recherches en sciences sociales à l’étranger : 

« C’est un moyen pratique de se familiariser avec différentes mentalités et d’acquérir des références et des points de comparaison multiples, ce qui est à la base d’une réflexion novatrice en sciences sociales », conclut-il.

Date de modification :