Vanier Scholar studies the effect of migration and family separation on youth

Vanier Scholar Jennifer Shaw, a PhD student in anthropology at Simon Fraser University, is studying the ways in which families are reconfigured through migration and specifically how it affects the sense of kinship and belonging among youth.

Jennifer set her sights on getting a youth perspective after observing that, while many researchers have studied migration and labour in Canada as it pertains to adults, little work has focused on the experience of youth. Using ethnographic life story interviews, Jennifer is exploring the family life of young people living in the Vancouver area who have experienced long-term separation from one or both parents. As part of her project, she will incorporate visuals produced by the study participants such as photographs or videos. This arts-based component will make the research accessible to a broader audience with the goal to inspire change in local communities.

Jennifer hopes her project will lead to a better understanding of the challenges youth face in moving to another country. This knowledge may be used to create programs to help youth settle in to their new communities. "It is really important to me that my research addresses concerns of the community and prospective participants, and helps generate the kinds of impacts they would like to see," she says.

"Having a Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship is truly an honour. It has allowed me the time and resources I need to build my connections to organizations and people, to ensure my research is relevant to the needs of the community."
-Vanier Scholar Jennifer Shaw, Simon Fraser University

Date modified:

Une boursière Vanier étudie les effets de la migration et de la séparation des familles sur les jeunes

Jennifer Shaw, boursière Vanier et doctorante en anthropologie à l'Université Simon-Fraser, étudie la reconfiguration des familles par la migration, en particulier sous l'angle du sentiment d'appartenance et de parenté chez les jeunes.

Elle cherche ainsi à obtenir le point de vue des jeunes pour combler une lacune observée à ce chapitre, de nombreux chercheurs ayant plutôt choisi de se pencher sur les aspects de la migration et du travail qui touchent les adultes au Canada. À l'aide d'entretiens ethnographiques, Jennifer explore la vie familiale de jeunes de la région de Vancouver ayant vécu une longue séparation d'un de ses parents ou des deux. Son projet intégrera des éléments visuels produits par les participants à l'étude, par exemple des photos ou des vidéos. « Ce volet artistique rendra la recherche accessible à un public élargi afin d'inspirer le changement dans les collectivités locales », mentionne Jennifer.

Elle espère que son projet facilitera la compréhension des défis que doivent relever les jeunes qui s'installent dans un nouveau pays. Les connaissances acquises pourront servir à créer des programmes qui aideront les jeunes à s'intégrer à leur nouvelle collectivité. « Il est très important pour moi que ma recherche porte sur les préoccupations de la collectivité et des éventuels participants, et qu'elle contribue à susciter les effets qu'ils souhaitent », ajoute Jennifer.

« La bourse d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier est un véritable honneur pour moi. Elle me donne le temps et les ressources nécessaires pour établir mes liens avec les organismes et les gens afin que ma recherche réponde aux besoins de la collectivité. »
– Jennifer Shaw, boursière Vanier, Université Simon-Fraser

Date de modification :