Memorandum: 2015-2016 Vanier CGS Competition Launch

To: Deans and Associate Deans of Graduate Studies
Vice-Presidents and Associate Vice-Presidents (Research)

C.C.: Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships Institution Contacts
Institution Scholarships Liaison Officers
Institution Research Grants Officers
Danika Goosney, Director, Research and Knowledge Translation Portfolio and Executive Director, Vanier-Banting Secretariat
Serge Villemure, Director, Scholarships and Fellowships Programs, NSERC
Jean-François Fortin, Director, Research Training Portfolio, SSHRC

From: Julie Conrad, Manager, Vanier-Banting Secretariat

Date: June 17, 2015

Subject: 2015-2016 Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS) and competition update


Please distribute to all parties at your institution who would benefit from this information.

The 2015-2016 Vanier CGS competition has been launched! This memo is to inform you of program news for this competition.

I) 2015-2016 Vanier CGS Competition Timelines

Please find below important competition timelines:

2015-16 Vanier CGS Competition Timelines
Competition Launch June 17, 2015: Posting of updated program literature on program website, including application guide
June 17, 2015: Activation of ResearchNet (electronic application system)
Application Deadline November 4, 2015 (8:00 pm ET)
Funding Decision Release March 31, 2016

II) Vanier CGS program news (summary of important changes are provided in Appendix 1)

A. New – Important changes to Institutional Quotas for 2015-16 to 2017-18

In an effort to enable the Vanier CGS program to better meet its objective of attracting and recruiting world-class doctoral students to Canadian institutions, the agencies have now implemented equal annual targets within the existing three year allocation period with restrictions placed on carrying forward unused quotas. As a result, the following changes to the quota distribution have been made:

  1. All Canadian institutions are provided a yearly quota within the existing three year quota allotment.
  2. Any unused annual quotas will not be carried forward for future years.
  3. Floating quotas can be used in either of the three years.

Please refer to memo sent out on May 15, 2015 in regards to the Institutional Quotas for 2015-16 to 2017-18 Vanier CGS competition.

B. New – Important changes to the nomination letter

In our continuous efforts to improve and simplify the nomination and review processes, an important change is being implemented in this competition:

Nomination Letter:  the nomination letter must now be completed and signed by the Department Head nominating the candidate instead of the institution.

C. New – Important changes to mobility and choice of nominating Institution

To help students benefit from diverse experiences and research environments, we encourage you to support the mobility of all nominees to pursue their doctoral studies at institutions different than those where they completed a previous degree. Nominees who chose a nominating institution which is the same as the institution where they completed their previous degree(s) must provide a strong justification for this exceptional circumstance which will be assessed as part of the selection committee review process under Special Circumstances. The more similar the proposed research environment is to that of the previous degree environment, the stronger the required justification.

In the Nomination Letter, the Department Head is required to provide justification for the lack of mobility and an explanation as to why it is in the candidate’s best interest to stay at the same institution. This will include further elaboration on the appropriateness of the supervisor in terms of resources, funding, publications, their research and training environment.  Examples may include (but not limited to) funding, facilities/resources and personnel that will be available to support the candidate as they carry out their proposed research and develop their leadership potential

In the Research proposal:  Candidates must now describe the incremental benefit conferred by undertaking their research at the nominating institution (e.g. supervisor/departmental specialization, lab facilities, funding opportunities, support structures offered/in-place), as well any benefit their research proposal will bring to the Canadian nominating institution if awarded a Vanier CGS (e.g., role model, networking, etc.).

D. New Important changes to the scoring process

To continue our commitment to fund only the most meritorious of doctoral candidates, we have instituted a minimum threshold score for funding. In order to be considered fundable, all candidates must achieve a score of at least 3.1 in each individual criterion.

E. Update - Website

The Vanier CGS website has undergone major changes. This was done in order to facilitate finding information and to clarify requirements from the different parties involved.

III. Vanier CGS program reminders

A. Reminder - Internal deadline at institution

It is strongly recommended that institutions adjust the internal deadline date in Research Net for the Vanier CGS competition in order to allow enough time for the internal review of nominations. Currently, the internal deadline date is the same as the final submission deadline for the Vanier CGS competition.

Instructions can be found in the Electronic Approval for Research Institutions- Administrator’s Guide attached. Institutions are also recommended to update the ResearchNet Electronic Approval Tool Users to avoid any further delays to the submission of nominations.

B. Reminder - Institutional endorsement: selectivity and diversity

With the competitive nature of the program in mind, we would like to remind you to continue to be highly selective in your endorsement of nominations. In this way we can work together to control the quality of candidates to help ensure that the program is indeed supporting world-class doctoral scholars who will become the research leaders of tomorrow and without adding undue strain on the review system.

In the endorsement process, institutions are reminded that proposals from all research areas and in both official languages are encouraged. In addition, gender equity is important in the endorsement process.

C. Reminder - International recruitment

In keeping with the aim of attracting doctoral students to Canada, we encourage you to continue to strengthen your efforts to recruit new foreign doctoral students to your respective institutions. Your collaboration is essential in achieving the goal of building strong brand recognition for the Vanier CGS program as the world’s most valuable, prestigious and sought-after doctoral scholarship. By attracting international candidates to Canadian institutions, we will enrich our campuses now and into the future.

D. Reminder — Adjudication and funding: agency mandate

The proposed research project must be eligible within the mandate of the federal granting agency selected in the nomination. If in doubt, candidates and institutions should consult with the Vanier-Banting Secretariat in advance of submitting the application.

Guidelines related to agency mandates are available on the following website

E. Reminder —The granting agencies’ obligations under the Official Languages Act

Under the Official Languages Act, federal institutions, including CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC, must ensure respect for the rights of individual Canadians to receive services from federal institutions and organizations that provide services on their behalf, in the official language of their choice.

As partners in the co-delivery of the Vanier CGS program, institutions must respect the Official Languages Act in the management of their internal selection processes. For the full text of the Official Languages Act, please visit website.

For any questions, please contact the Vanier-Banting Secretariat at Vanier@cihr-irsc.gc.ca

Appendix 1

Summary of main changes the program website for the 2015-16 Vanier CGS competition:

Changes URL
A. All Canadian institutions are provided a yearly quota within the existing three year quota allotment. http://www.vanier.gc.ca/en/information_for_institutions-information_pour_etablissements.html
B. Nomination letters - must come be completed and signed by the Department Head nominating the candidate.
New elements to be address by Department Head:
  1. Appropriateness of supervisor and research/training environment;
  2. Research interests/background of the student and supervisor align with the institution’s priorities;
  3. Articulate how the candidate will benefit from being a Vanier CGS awardee;
http://www.vanier.gc.ca/en/information_for_institutions-information_pour_etablissements.html
C. Mobility and choice of nominating Institution. Research proposal – updated elements to address, including rationale for selecting the nominating institution and supervisor (if applicable) http://www.vanier.gc.ca/en/information_for_institutions-information_pour_etablissements.html
http://www.vanier.gc.ca/en/selection_committee_guide-comite_selection_lignes.html#c2
D. Minimum threshold score for funding is 3.1 for each individual criterion http://www.vanier.gc.ca/en/nomination_process-processus_de_mise_en_candidature.html
E. Updated Vanier CGS website http://www.vanier.gc.ca/en/home-accueil.html
Date modified:

NOTE: 2015-2016 BESC Vanier Lancement du concours

AUX: Doyens et vice-doyens des études supérieures
Vice-recteurs et vice-recteurs associés à la recherche

C.C.: Personnes-ressources pour les bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier dans les établissements
Agents de liaison pour les bourses dans les établissements
Responsables des subventions de recherche dans les établissements
Danika Goosney, directrice, Portefeuille de la recherche, de l’application des connaissances et de l’éthique, et directrice générale, Secrétariat Vanier-Banting
Serge Villemure, directeur, Direction des subventions de recherche et bourses, CRSNG
Jean-François Fortin, directeur, Portefeuille de la formation en recherche, CRSH

DE: Julie Conrad, gestionnaire, Secrétariat Vanier-Banting

Date: 17 juin 2015

Subject: Mise à jour sur le programme et le concours 2015-2016 de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier)


Prière de transmettre aux personnes de votre établissement à qui cette information pourrait être utile.

Le concours 2015-2016 de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier) est lancé! Cette note a pour but de vous donner des nouvelles du programme pour le présent concours.

I) Calendrier du concours 2015-2016 de BESC Vanier

Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques dates importantes :

Calendrier du concours 2015-2016 de BESC Vanier
Lancement du concours 17 juin 2015 : Affichage de la documentation mise à jour sur le site Web du programme, y compris le guide de présentation des candidatures
17 juin 2015 : Activation de RechercheNet (système électronique de présentation des candidatures)
Date limite de présentation des candidatures 4 novembre 2015, 20 h (HE)
Date prévue de l’avis de financement 31 mars 2016

II) Nouvelles du programme de BESC Vanier (un résumé des changements importants est fourni à l’annexe 1)

A. Nouveau – Changements importants apportés aux quotas des établissements pour les concours de 2015-2016 à 2017-2018

Afin de permettre au programme de mieux atteindre son objectif d’attirer et de recruter des doctorants de calibre mondial dans les établissements canadiens, les organismes ont mis en place des cibles annuelles égales dans le cadre de la période d’allocation actuelle de trois ans avec des restrictions sur le report des quotas inutilisés. C’est pourquoi les modifications suivantes ont été apportées à la répartition des quotas :

  1. Tous les établissements canadiens bénéficient d’un quota annuel dans le cadre de l’allocation de quotas actuelle de trois ans.
  2. Tout quota annuel inutilisé ne sera pas reporté à des années ultérieures.
  3. Les quotas flottants peuvent être utilisés dans l’une ou l’autre des trois années.

Veuillez consulter la note envoyée le 15 mai 2015 pour vous renseigner sur les quotas des établissements pour les concours de BESC Vanier de 2015-2016 à 2017-2018.

B. Nouveau – Changements importants apportés aux lettres de mise en candidature

Dans le cadre de nos efforts continus pour améliorer et simplifier le processus de mise en candidature et d’évaluation, nous apportons un changement important au présent concours :

La lettre de mise en candidature doit now être remplie et signée par le chef de département proposant le candidat au lieu de l’établissement.

C. Nouveau – Changements importants apportés à la mobilité et au choix de l’établissement qui propose des candidatures

Afin d’aider les étudiants à profiter d’expériences et de milieux de recherche divers, nous vous encourageons à appuyer la mobilité des candidats pour qu’ils poursuivent leurs études de doctorat dans un établissement différent de celui où ils ont obtenu leur diplôme antérieur. Les candidats dont la candidature est présentée par l’établissement où ils ont obtenu un ou plusieurs diplômes précédents doivent fournir une solide justification de ces cas exceptionnels, laquelle sera évaluée par le comité de sélection au cours du processus d’évaluation dans des circonstances particulières. Plus le milieu de recherche proposé ressemble à celui où le candidat a obtenu son diplôme précédent, plus solide devra être la justification exigée.

Dans la lettre de mise en candidature, le chef de département doit justifier le manque de mobilité et expliquer les raisons pour lesquelles il est dans l’intérêt du candidat de poursuivre ses études au même établissement. Cette explication décrira en quoi le choix du directeur de recherche est approprié sur les plans des ressources, du financement, des publications, et du milieu de la formation et de la recherche, notamment la contribution financière, les installations, les ressources et le personnel mis à la disposition du candidat pour l’aider à mener à bien la recherche proposée et développer son potentiel de leadership.

Dans la proposition de recherche, les candidats doivent maintenant décrire les avantages supplémentaires que procure la réalisation de leur recherche à l’établissement présentant leur candidature (p. ex. spécialisation du directeur de recherche/département, laboratoire, possibilités de financement, structures de soutien offertes ou sur place), ainsi que les avantages qu’apportera leur proposition de recherche à l’établissement s’ils reçoivent une BESC Vanier (p. ex. modèle, réseautage, etc.).

D. Nouveau – Changements importants apportés au processus de notation

Pour respecter l’engagement que nous avons pris de ne financer que les doctorants les plus méritoires, nous avons établi une note minimale pour le financement. Donc, pour être subventionnables, tous les candidats doivent obtenir une note d’au moins 3,1 pour chaque critère.

E. Mise à jour – Site Web

Le site Web du programme a subi des changements majeurs afin de faciliter la recherche d’informations et de clarifier les exigences des différentes parties concernées.

III. Rappels pour le programme de BESC Vanier

A. Rappel – Date limite interne des établissements

On recommande fortement aux établissements d’indiquer une date limite interne dans RechercheNet pour le concours de BESC Vanier de façon à allouer suffisamment de temps à l’évaluation interne des candidatures. Actuellement, la date limite interne correspond à la date finale de présentation des candidatures au concours de BESC Vanier.

Vous trouverez des instructions dans le document ci-joint intitulé « Approbation électronique des établissements de recherche – Guide de l’administrateur ». On recommande également aux établissements de donner une mise à jour aux utilisateurs de l’outil d’approbation électronique dans RechercheNet afin d’éviter tout nouveau retard dans la soumission des candidatures.

B. Rappel – Approbation de l’établissement : sélection et diversité

Étant donné la nature compétitive du programme, nous tenons à vous rappeler de continuer à être très sélectifs lorsque vous appuyez une candidature. Ainsi, nous pourrons ensemble assurer la qualité des candidatures, de sorte que le programme soutienne les boursiers doctoraux de calibre mondial appelés à devenir les prochains chefs de file en recherche, sans toutefois surcharger inutilement le système d’évaluation.

On rappelle aux établissements d’appuyer des candidatures dans tous les domaines de recherche et dans les deux langues officielles. De plus, la promotion de l’équité entre les sexes est importante dans le processus d’approbation.

C. Rappel – Recrutement à l’international

Étant donné l’objectif du programme consistant à attirer des boursiers doctoraux au Canada, nous encourageons les établissements à redoubler d’efforts pour appuyer la candidature de nouveaux étudiants au doctorat de l’étranger. Nous avons besoin de votre collaboration pour bâtir la réputation du programme de BESC Vanier en tant que programme offrant les bourses doctorales les plus valorisées, prestigieuses et recherchées dans le monde. Chaque candidat international recruté par les établissements canadiens vient enrichir nos campus, dans l’immédiat et à long terme.

D. Rappel – Sélection et financement : mandat de l’organisme

Le projet de recherche proposé doit être admissible dans le cadre du mandat de l’organisme subventionnaire fédéral sélectionné dans la candidature. En cas de doute, les candidats et les établissements devraient consulter le Secrétariat Vanier-Banting avant de présenter une candidature.

Les lignes directrices liées au mandat respectif des organismes se trouvent à l’adresse suivante 

E. Rappel – Obligations des organismes subventionnaires en vertu de la Loi sur les langues officielles

Conformément à la Loi sur les langues officielles, les organismes fédéraux, y compris le CRSH, le CRSNG et les IRSC, doivent respecter les droits des Canadiens à recevoir des services dans la langue officielle de leur choix.

En tant que partenaires dans l’exécution du programme de BESC Vanier, les établissements doivent respecter la Loi sur les langues officielles pour la gestion du processus de sélection interne. Pour consulter le texte de la Loi sur les langues officielles, visitez le Site Web.

Pour toute question, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat Vanier-Banting à Vanier@irsc-cihr.gc.ca

Annexe 1:

Résumé des principaux changements apportés au site Web du programme de BESC Vanier pour le concours 2015-2016

Changements URL
A. Tous les établissements canadiens bénéficient d’un quota annuel dans le cadre de l’allocation de quotas actuelle de trois ans. http://www.vanier.gc.ca/fr/information_for_institutions-information_pour_etablissements.html
B. Les lettres de mise en candidature doivent être remplies et signées par le chef de département proposant le candidat.
New elements to be address by Department Head:
  1. Caractère approprié du directeur de recherche et du milieu de la formation et de la recherche
  2. Harmonisation des intérêts et des antécédents de recherche de l’étudiant et du directeur de recherche avec les priorités de l’établissement
  3. Façon dont le candidat bénéficiera d’une BESC Vanier
http://www.vanier.gc.ca/fr/information_for_institutions-information_pour_etablissements.html
C. Mobilité et choix de l’établissement qui propose des candidatures. Proposition de recherche – éléments mis à jour, y compris la justification du choix de l’établissement qui présente la candidature et du directeur de recherche (s’il y a lieu) http://www.vanier.gc.ca/fr/information_for_institutions-information_pour_etablissements.html
http://www.vanier.gc.ca/fr/selection_committee_guide-comite_selection_lignes.html#c2
D. La note minimale de financement est de 3,1 pour chaque critère individuel. http://www.vanier.gc.ca/fr/nomination_process-processus_de_mise_en_candidature.html
E. Site Web des BESC Vanier mis à jour http://www.vanier.gc.ca/fr/home-accueil.html
Date de modification :