Vanier Scholar Renee Willmon analyzes the evolutionary impact of tuberculosis (TB) using 3D investigation

Renee Willmon, an accomplished Vanier Scholar at the University of Western Ontario, aims to use modern genetic and clinical understanding of TB to determine the ways this disease has impacted the evolution and development of societies through space and time.

Using paleopathology and 3-D imaging techniques, Renee is studying skeletons in Canada and Europe, including samples from the Kleinburg Ossuary Skeletal Collection, an ancestral Wendat skeletal sample dating from 1600 AD. With this study, Renee hopes that TB among First Nation ancestors may also shed light on contributing factors to the modern susceptibility of Canadian First Nations.

Renee remains mindful to be respectful and non-intrusive towards the remains of First Nation ancestors.  She has created opportunities to highlight the significance of her research in a sustainable and culturally sensitive way, which transcends language, or cultural barriers using digital 3D imaging. "To overcome these methodological limitations and preserve culturally sensitive human remains, this research will use micro-3D imaging and visualization techniques to improve our ability to diagnose TB in the past" says Renee.

"My work has benefits beyond my specific research question, in that Micro-CT and 3D analysis is advancing our understanding of bone microstructure and how it relates to disease, so that this type of data can be used to access more information about the lives of past peoples" she states.

Renee is advised by both Dr. Andrew Nelson at the University of Western Ontario and Dr. Oliver Dutour at the École Pratique des Hautes Études (Sorbonne), France, for her project. One of her goals is to "introduce the value of anthropology and paleopathology to a wider international audience". Renee is also contributing to the documentary/reality television show To Catch a Killer, using forensic anthropology to provide insight on cold cases.

"A Vanier award has helped me achieve my goals and raise the profile of Canadian innovations in anthropology throughout North America and Europe."
-Vanier Scholar Renee Willmon, Western University

Date modified:

Renee Willmon, boursière Vanier, analyse en 3D l'incidence de la tuberculose sur l'évolution

Renee Willmon, boursière Vanier accomplie à l'Université Western Ontario, veut se fonder sur la compréhension moderne de la tuberculose sur les plans génétique et clinique pour déterminer les façons dont cette maladie a influé sur l'évolution et le développement des sociétés à travers le temps et l'espace.

À l'aide de la paléopathologie et de techniques d'imagerie 3D, la chercheuse étudie des squelettes au Canada et en Europe, y compris des échantillons de la collection de squelettes de l'ossuaire de Kleinburg et un échantillon du squelette d'un ancêtre wendat datant de 1600 av. J.-C. Grâce à cette étude sur la tuberculose chez les ancêtres des Premières Nations, Mme Willmon espère mieux cerner les facteurs intervenant dans la prédisposition moderne des Premières Nations du Canada.

Mme Willmon garde à l'esprit qu'elle doit faire preuve de respect et de délicatesse envers les restes des ancêtres des Premières Nations. Elle a créé des occasions de souligner l'importance de sa recherche qui s'avère viable et adaptée à la culture, et qui transcende la langue ou les barrières culturelles, en ayant recours à l'imagerie numérique 3D. « Pour surmonter ces limites méthodologiques et respecter les rites culturels liés aux restes humains, j'effectuerai cette recherche au moyen de la micro-imagerie 3D et de techniques de visualisation pour améliorer notre capacité de diagnostiquer la tuberculose dont souffraient les gens dans le passé », affirme-t-elle.

« Les avantages de mes travaux dépassent mon thème de recherche : la microTDM et l'analyse 3D permettent d'approfondir notre compréhension de la microstructure osseuse et de son lien avec la maladie. Cela peut servir à accéder à des renseignements supplémentaires sur la vie des peuples du passé », explique-t-elle.

Mme Willmon est conseillée par le Dr Andrew Nelson à l'Université Western Ontario et par le Dr Oliver Dutour à l'École pratique des hautes études (Sorbonne), en France, dans le cadre de son projet. L'un de ses objectifs est de « faire connaître la valeur de l'anthropologie et de la paléopathologie à un plus vaste auditoire, à l'échelle internationale ». La chercheuse contribue également au documentaire/téléréalité To Catch a Killer en ayant recours à l'anthropologie médicolégale pour jeter la lumière sur des affaires non résolues.

« La bourse Vanier m'a permis d'atteindre mes objectifs et d'accroître la visibilité des découvertes canadiennes en anthropologie partout en Amérique du Nord et en Europe. »
- Renee Willmon, boursière Vanier, Université Western

Date de modification :