Background

The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS) program helps Canada's universities attract sought-after doctoral students from across Canada and around the world. These promising scholars help to create a dynamic and innovative environment within our institution campuses. Many will stay to pursue academic and professional careers in Canada, helping to foster innovation and creating future leaders.

The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS) was announced in the 2008 federal budget as part of a broader strategy to increase the supply of highly-qualified research personnel in Canada and brand Canada worldwide as a nation known for quality research and research training. These concepts are central to the Government of Canada's science and technology (S&T) strategy, announced in May 2007, which set out a multiyear framework for improving Canada's long-term competitiveness. Attracting and retaining the best minds to innovate within Canada is a government priority. Canada's prosperity as a nation is increasingly based on science and technology and the highly skilled and creative individuals whose talents bring innovations to life. Their ideas spark the creation of new products, services and policies that support Canada's economic competitiveness, strengthen social foundations, sustain the environment and improve the quality of life for all Canadians.

The Vanier CGS program is one of a suite of elite federal research capacity development programs. The suite begins with early graduate student support through Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships, progresses to postdoctoral training through the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships program and continues through the academic career progression (Tier 1 and 2 Canada Research Chairs) to a career pinnacle (Canada Excellence Research Chairs).

Together, these programs are intended to increase the supply of highly-qualified research personnel in Canada and brand Canada worldwide as a nation known for quality research and research training. They complement other training vehicles, including doctoral scholarship programs supported by the three federal granting agencies (Canadian Institutes for Health Research - CIHR, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada - NSERC, and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada - SSHRC).

The Vanier CGS program allows highly motivated and competitive students to realize their full potential and develop their careers. Upon completion of their award, Vanier Scholars will be well positioned to contribute to the continued growth of Canada's research capacity and the country's economic and social prosperity.

Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships: Supporting world-class doctoral students (Transcript)

Introduction:
The Government of Canada's Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS) program aims to attract and retain world-class doctoral students by supporting students who demonstrate both leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly achievement in graduate studies in the social sciences and humanities, natural sciences and engineering and health.

Text Slide:
"If Canada is to attain the greatness worthy of it, each of us must say, 'I ask only to serve.'"
Major-General the Right Honourable Georges Philias Vanier (1888-1967)

Byline:
Keena Trowell
Vanier scholar 2017McGill University
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)

Keena Trowell:
The first people, right away, I called my parents. We talk every Sunday, of course, I'm calling on a Friday afternoon, my mother says: "what's wrong?" And I said: "nothing mom. I have the best news" and I told her. I mean my parents have been so supportive of me, my entire life. And I don't think a lot of parents would have been happy if their daughter had said, you know, ten years into one career, I'm going to quit and start all over but my parents were very supportive. And so, being able to call them and tell them that I won this amazing scholarship was... it's definitely been a highlight of my life.

Byline:
Emily Bremer
Vanier scholar 2016
McMaster University
Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)

Emily Bremer:
So the thing with Vanier that I find really nice is that it allows me to really focus on my research without the added stress of worrying about everything else in life, and other financial pressures and even academic career pressures. It has kind of enabled me to relax and kind of gain that extra confidence in myself that there are external agencies and people recognizing the merit that I do have and my research capability and potential and it allows me also to you know focus in and dedicate my time to my research rather than being stressed about you know working extra jobs or worrying about anything else like that, that's external to the research that I do.

Byline:
Tyrone Hall
Vanier scholar 2017
York University
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC)

Tyrone Hall:
Vanier opened up some tremendous opportunities for me and the research that I want to do. I came into graduate studies with all sorts of ambitious projects in mind and it would have been almost impossible to pursue a four country project, running around various villages in different parts of the world without having the sort of substantial support …

Emily Bremer:
I've always, since I got into research, in my undergrad, as soon as I started doing it, I really fell in love with the research and figured, from undergrad, I wanted to do a masters and PhD and move that into a post-doc and hopefully an academic position at a research intensive university. 

Tyrone Hall:
It was a huge commitment, but I'm happy made that commitment. I didn't let the sort of rigour that it demands throw me off. You're supposed to be engaged by that sort of thing. And it's a great way for you to think about your research way ahead of time.

Keena Trowell:
Everybody I asked to write a letter, they were thrilled to do it. These people who have supported you in the past, they only want to see you succeed. And so they're happy to write these letters for you. Yes, absolutely I would say go for it. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Text Slide: Position yourself as a research leader in Canada

Vanier Scholar and Banting Fellow – Dr. Bouilly (Transcript)

Introduction:
The impact of being selected for these prestigious awards resonates with our past recipients. Among Dr. Delphine Bouilly's impressive repertoire of significant achievements, her resumé includes both the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship (Vanier CGS) and Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship (Banting PDF). We caught up with her to speak to her about the impact that these awards have had on her, her research field and future directions.

Text:
Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships

Delphine Bouilly
Vanier Scholar 2009

Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships
Delphine Bouilly
Banting Fellow 2015

Université of Montréal
Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer (IRIC)

Delphine Bouilly:

For the past year, I've been a physics professor at the University of Montréal's Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer (IRIC). This is where I'm starting my research program as an independent researcher. I now have a small research team with students, and we use nanotechnology to develop new technologies for biomedical applications. In particular, we want to study biological molecules like DNA and proteins directly at the molecular scale.

We are truly at the interface of physical and biological sciences. We are interested in building extremely miniaturized electric circuits that would allow us to immobilize biological molecules – we only need one – and then follow interactions, changes in shape and biochemical activity over time. This is a tool that we think will be useful in understanding how biological molecules function as well as their roles in health, among other things.

Much of what I do now as a professor, as a researcher, come from ideas I had during my postdoctoral studies, while I benefited from my Banting Fellowship. That's really when I started exploring some ideas myself, testing types of prototypes and projects that led me to what I am doing today. That's when I started mixing my field – physics – with applications in other fields, like biology. That's really when all of this came about.

Absolutely, you need to do it! There's no question. It's a really well-made program, even just in terms of design: you have to propose a project – broader than just a research project, it's more of a training project. And it's really interesting to develop the project itself, and then when you put it into action, that's even better! There's no reason not to apply, not to try the program. There can only be good things that come from developing the project – and receiving the funding, obviously!

Being where I am today, it's like a dream come true. That's for sure. I can teach science, conduct high-level research and work with my fantastic, hard-working students. Engaging with my students and helping them to go further and discover new things about nature – there isn't much more I could ask for in a job.

Text: Position yourself as a research leader of tomorrow
For more information on this graduate scholarship, visit Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships website
For more information on this postdoctoral fellowship, visit Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships website

Date modified:

Contexte

Le Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier) aide les universités canadiennes à recruter des étudiants de doctorat en demande qui proviennent du Canada et du reste du monde. Ces chercheurs prometteurs contribuent à créer un milieu dynamique et innovateur au sein des universités. Un grand nombre d'entre eux poursuivront une carrière universitaire ou professionnelle au Canada, ce qui favorisera l'innovation et la création de futurs leaders.

Annoncé dans le budget fédéral de 2008, le programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier) s'inscrit dans une stratégie plus vaste visant à élargir le bassin de personnel de recherche hautement qualifié au Canada et à faire de notre pays une nation reconnue mondialement pour la qualité de sa recherche et de sa formation en recherche. Ces concepts constituent des éléments cruciaux de la Stratégie des sciences et de la technologie du gouvernement du Canada annoncée en mai 2007, laquelle établit un cadre de travail pluriannuel visant à améliorer la compétitivité à long terme du Canada. Recruter et garder au pays les plus brillants esprits innovateurs constitue une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. La prospérité du Canada en tant que nation dépend de plus en plus des sciences et de la technologie ainsi que des personnes compétentes et créatives dont le talent est source d'innovation. Leurs idées entraînent la création de nouveaux produits, de nouveaux services et de nouvelles politiques qui appuient la compétitivité économique du pays, consolident ses bases sociales, favorisent la durabilité de l'environnement et améliorent la qualité de vie de tous les Canadiens.

Le Programme de BESC Vanier fait partie d'une série de programmes prestigieux de renforcement des capacités de recherche allant d'un soutien initial aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs (programme de BESC Vanier), à des bourses de formation postdoctorale (programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting), puis à du financement menant à l'avancement de la carrière universitaire (programme des chaires de recherche du Canada - niveaux 1 et 2) et enfin à l'apogée de la carrière (programme des chaires d'excellence en recherche du Canada).

Ensemble, ces programmes visent à élargir le bassin de personnel de recherche hautement qualifié au Canada et à faire de notre pays une nation reconnue mondialement pour la qualité de sa recherche et de sa formation en recherche. Ces programmes s'ajoutent à d'autres moyens de formation, y compris les programmes de bourses doctorales financées par les trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux (les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada - IRSC, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada - CRSNG et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada - CRSH.

Le Programme de BESC Vanier permet à des étudiants hautement motivés et compétitifs de réaliser leur plein potentiel et d'avancer dans leur carrière. Après la fin de leur bourse, les boursiers Vanier seront bien placés pour contribuer à l'expansion continue de la capacité de recherche du Canada et à sa prospérité économique et sociale.

Le Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier : Soutien d'étudiants au doctorat de renommée internationale (Transcription)

Introduction :
Le Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier) du Gouvernement du Canada vise à recruter et à garder au pays les meilleurs étudiants de doctorat du monde en appuyant des étudiants faisant preuve de leadership et dont les réalisations universitaires dans les domaines des sciences humaines, des sciences naturelles, du génie ou de la santé sont exceptionnelles.

Texte :
« Si le Canada veut atteindre la grandeur à laquelle elle aspire, chacun de nous doit dire : "Je ne demande qu'à servir". »
Le très honorable major-général Georges Philias Vanier (1888-1967)

Texte :
Keena Trowell
Boursière Vanier 2017Université McGill
Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG)

Keena Trowell :
Mes parents sont les premières personnes que j'ai appelées. Nous nous parlons tous les dimanches, mais là j'appelais un vendredi après-midi, donc ma mère était inquiète, évidemment. Je lui ai dit : « Ne t'inquiète pas, maman. J'ai une super bonne nouvelle. » Puis je lui ai tout raconté. Mes parents m'ont toujours soutenue. Je ne pense pas que beaucoup de parents seraient contents si leur fille leur disait, après dix ans de carrière, qu'elle abandonnait tout pour revenir à la case départ, mais mes parents ont été très positifs. Ce coup de fil là pour leur annoncer que j'avais décroché cette bourse exceptionnelle… je m'en souviendrai toute ma vie.

Texte :
Emily Bremer
Boursière Vanier 2016
Université McMaster
Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) 

Emily Bremer :
Ce que j'aime du programme Vanier, c'est qu'il me permet de vraiment me concentrer sur mes recherches sans avoir à me soucier des autres problèmes dans la vie, comme les contraintes financières ou même les carrières universitaires. Je peux relaxer et avoir un peu plus de confiance en moi, et croire qu'il y a des organismes externes et des gens qui reconnaissent mon mérite, ma capacité de recherche et mon potentiel. Je peux aussi me consacrer entièrement à mes recherches, au lieu de devoir me stresser à avoir d'autres emplois ou des choses comme ça qui ne sont pas liées à mes recherches.

Texte :
Tyrone Hall
Boursier Vanier 2017
Université York
Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH)

Tyrone Hall :
Le programme Vanier m'a permis d'accéder à tout un monde de possibilités pour les recherches que je veux faire. Je me suis lancé dans mes études supérieures avec plein de projets ambitieux en tête, et il aurait été presque impossible de mener un projet à quatre pays, de parcourir différents villages aux quatre coins du monde sans un appui considérable…

Emily Bremer :
Quand je me suis lancée en recherche au premier cycle, dès le début, c'était le coup de foudre. À ce moment-là, même au premier cycle, j'ai décidé que j'allais faire une maîtrise et un doctorat, puis un postdoctorat, pour ensuite, je l'espère, obtenir un poste dans une université de recherche.

Tyrone Hall :
C'était un engagement énorme, mais je suis heureux de l'avoir pris. Je ne me suis pas laissé déstabiliser par la rigueur qui était exigée. Tu es censé être motivé par ce genre de choses. Et c'est une excellente façon de réfléchir à tes recherches bien à l'avance.

Keena Trowell :
Chaque personne à qui j'ai demandé de rédiger une lettre était ravie de le faire. Ces gens qui t'ont soutenu par le passé, ils veulent seulement te voir réussir. Donc ils sont heureux de rédiger ces lettres pour toi. Moi, je dis qu'il faut absolument s'essayer. Tu n'as rien à perdre et tout à gagner.

Texte : Donnez-vous les moyens de devenir chef de file en recherche au Canada

Boursière Vanier et Banting – Dre Bouilly (Transcription)

Introduction :
L'impact de ces prix prestigieux trouve un écho chez nos anciens récipiendaires. Parmi son impressionnant répertoire de réalisations exceptionnelles, la Dre Delphine Bouilly a reçu à la fois la bourse d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier et la bourse postdoctorale Banting. Nous l'avons rencontrée pour lui parler de l'effet que ces prix ont eu sur elle, son domaine de recherche et son avenir.

Texte :
Bourses d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier

Delphine Bouilly
Boursière Vanier 2009

Bourses postdoctorales Banting
Delphine Bouilly
Boursière Banting 2015

Université de Montréal
Institut de recherche en immunologie et cancérologie

Delphine Bouilly :

Depuis un an, je suis professeur en physique à l'université de Montréal à l'institut de recherche en immunologie et cancérologie (L'IRIC). Et donc, ici je démarre mon programme de recherche comme chercheur indépendant. Donc, j'ai maintenant une petite équipe de recherche avec des étudiants et puis nous, on travaille sur le développement de nouvelles technologies, de nano-technologie pour des applications bio-médicales pour en particulier, étudier les molécules biologiques comme l'ADN et les protéines directement à leur échelle.

Nous, on est vraiment à l'interface entre les sciences physiques puis les sciences biologiques. Donc  qui nous intéresse c'est de fabriquer des circuits électriques extrêmement miniaturisés qui nous permettent, justement, d'immobiliser des molécules biologiques, une seule molécule biologique, qui peut venir s'installer, qu'on peut immobiliser sur le circuit électronique. Ça, sa nous permet de suivre, dans le fonds, ses interactions, ses changements de forme et toute son activité biochimique à travers le temps. Donc ça, c'est un outil qu'on pense qui va être intéressant pour comprendre le fonctionnement des molécules biologiques puis leurs rôles dans la santé, entre autre.

Beaucoup de ce que je fais maintenant comme professeur, comme chercheur, c'est des idées qui ont germées pendant mon post-doctorat. Pendant que j'avais l'opportunité de la bourse Banting. C'est vraiment à ce moment là que j'ai commencé à explorer moi-même certaines idées, à essayer des formes de prototypes, des formes de projets qui m'ont amené aujourd'hui à ce que je fais. Donc à mélanger un peu le domaine dont je viens, la physique avec des applications plus à l'extérieur, au niveau de la biologie. C'est vraiment à ce moment là que c'est né.

Absolument, d'y aller! Ça, il n'y a pas de question, c'est un programme qui est vraiment bien fait, ni serait-ce-que la manière que c'est conçu: il fait proposer un projet, qui est plus large que juste un projet de recherche, c'est vraiment un projet de formation. Puis ça c'est vraiment intéressant, ne serait-ce de préparer le projet lui-même puis après de le mettre en action. C'est encore plus intéressant. Mais définitivement, il n'y a pas de raisons de ne pas appliquer, puis de ne pas aller de l'avant avec ce programme là. Il y a juste des bénéfices à le préparer et à de le recevoir, évidemment.

Être où je suis en ce moment, c'est vraiment un rêve qui se réalise. Ça c'est certain. D'avoir ce travail là où je peux enseigner la science, faire de la recherche de haut niveau, travailler avec mes étudiants maintenant, qui sont fantastiques puis qui travaillent super fort. Puis d'échanger avec eux, de les aider à amener plus loin, puis de découvrir des nouvelles choses à propos de la nature. Il n'y a pas grand chose que pourrais demander de plus au plan professionnel.

Texte : Donnez-vous les moyens de devenir chef de file en recherche au Canada
Pour plus de renseignements sur cette bourse d'études supérieures, visitez le site Web des Bourses d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier
Pour plus de renseignements sur cette bourse postdoctorale, visitez le site Web des Bourses postdoctorales Banting

Date de modification :