Eligibility

Confirm that you and your nominating institution meet all the criteria below before you apply for a Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship (Vanier CGS).

Nominations that do not meet all of the eligibility criteria will not be accepted.

Candidate eligibility

Citizenship

Canadian citizens, permanent residents of Canada and foreign citizens are eligible to be nominated for a Vanier CGS.

To be considered for a Vanier CGS, you must:

Calculating months of doctoral studies

All prior doctoral-level studies, regardless of discipline, are considered in the evaluation of eligibility. The Vanier-Banting Secretariat (the Secretariat) will count two months of part-time study as one month of full-time study.

The Secretariat will not include the first 12 months of graduate level study for the following students:

Note: For students in combined or accelerated programs: in calculating the number of months completed, the Secretariat will begin it’s calculation at the beginning of graduate study (i.e., from the start of the master’s program, not from the effective date of transfer to the doctoral program) and subtract 12 months from the total, regardless of the amount of time spent undertaking Master’s level study.

In the case of students who are registered in a joint undergraduate/graduate research degree program, the undergraduate (MD, DVM, JD) portion will not count towards the number of months at the doctoral level. Because the Secretariat only includes the PhD portion of joint undergraduate/graduate degrees when calculating the number of months of study, these programs are not considered to be direct-entry programs, and as such all PhD level studies will be included in the number of months completed as of May 1, 2017.

All interruptions, delays, part-time studies and undergraduate studies undertaken as part of a joint undergraduate/graduate degree program must be indicated in the special circumstances attachment.

Example: If you were completing full-time doctoral studies as of January 1, 2016, with no interruptions during this period, the Secretariat will consider you as having completed 16 months of doctoral studies as of May 1, 2017. If, during this period, you were on leave from your program for four months, the Secretariat will consider you as having completed 12 months of doctoral studies. If, in addition to having taken one semester off, you had been registered part-time for one semester (i.e., four months), the Secretariat will consider you as having completed 10 months of doctoral studies.

Nominating institution

The nominating institution must have received a Vanier CGS quota.

Eligibility to hold a Vanier CGS

Without exception, the Vanier CGS is tenable only at the eligible Canadian institution that submitted the nomination.

To hold the Vanier CGS, the candidate must:

Part-time studies

A Vanier CGS may be held by students who are registered part-time because of a disability or family responsibilities. For this purpose, disability is defined as "a functional limitation resulting from a physical, sensory or mental impairment, which, for an indefinite period, affects the ability of the student to perform the activities necessary to participate fully in his or her learning" and family responsibilities is defined as "the primary responsibility for providing personal care to a dependent family member (e.g., pre-school children, infirm spouse or parent) which affects the ability of the student to perform the activities necessary to participate fully in his or her learning". For eligible part-time students, the Vanier CGS will be equivalent to full-time funding spread over a longer period of time.

Canadian federal government employees

Canadian federal government employees are eligible to hold a scholarship only if an unpaid leave of absence is taken (no salary or special allowances permitted).

Multiple applications

Eligible candidates may apply to both the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship program and agency-specific (CIHR, NSERC, or SSHRC) doctoral-level scholarship/fellowships programs in the same academic year. Eligible candidates must submit Vanier and agency-specific applications to the same federal granting agency, and must meet all eligibility criteria in order to be considered. For more information, please refer to Identify area of research.

Note: since eligibility, evaluation criteria and competition deadlines are different; applications submitted to Vanier CGS are not considered in agency-specific doctoral award competitions. You must apply to each program individually.

Candidates who are successful in both competitions will have to choose which award to accept.

Selecting the appropriate federal granting agency

The candidate's proposed research project and doctoral program of study must be eligible within the mandate of the federal granting agency to which the nomination is submitted. If in doubt, institutions should consult with the Secretariat in advance of submitting the nomination. This also applies to nominations involving interdisciplinary fields of research or research areas that span the mandates of two or more of the federal granting agencies.

Date modified:

Admissibilité

Vous devez confirmer que vous et l'établissement qui propose votre candidature satisfaites à tous les critères énoncés ci-dessous avant de présenter une demande de bourse d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier).

Les candidatures qui ne satisfont pas à tous les critères d'admissibilité seront rejetées.

Admissibilité du candidat

Citoyenneté

Les citoyens canadiens, les résidents permanents du Canada et les citoyens de pays étrangers peuvent être proposés pour une BESC Vanier.

Pour être admissible à une BESC Vanier, il faut que :

Calcul des mois d'études de doctorat

Pour déterminer l’admissibilité des candidats, le Secrétariat Vanier-Banting (le Secrétariat) tient compte de toutes les études de doctorat, peu importe la discipline. Aux fins du calcul, deux mois d’études à temps partiel équivalent à un mois d’études à temps plein.

Le Secrétariat ne compte pas les 12 premiers mois des études supérieures pour les étudiants suivants :

Remarque : Pour les étudiants dans un programme combiné ou accéléré, le Secrétariat calcule le nombre de mois terminés à partir du début des études supérieures (c.-à-d. du début du programme de maitrise, et non de la date d’entrée en vigueur du transfert au programme de doctorat) et soustrait 12 mois du total, quel que soit le temps passé aux études de maitrise.

Pour les étudiants qui sont inscrits à un programme de recherche combiné de premier cycle et d’études de doctorat, la portion du premier cycle (M.D., D.M.V., J.D.) ne comptera pas dans le nombre de mois au niveau doctoral. Puisque seule la portion Ph.D. est comptée, les programmes combinés de premier cycle et d’études de doctorat ne sont pas considérés comme étant des programmes permettant de passer directement du baccalauréat au doctorat. Ainsi, toutes les études de doctorat seront comptées dans le nombre de mois d’études complétées au 1er mai 2017.

Les étudiants doivent fournir des renseignements au sujet des interruptions, des reports, des études à temps partiel et des études de premier cycle dans le cadre d’un programme combiné de premier cycle et d’études de doctorat dans la pièce jointe « Circonstances spéciales ».

Exemple : Si vous avez commencé vos études de doctorat à temps plein le 1er janvier 2016, et que vous les avez poursuivies sans interruption, le Secrétariat considère que vous aurez effectué 16 mois d'études de doctorat au 1er mai 2017. Si, durant cette période de 16 mois, vous avez pris un congé autorisé de votre programme pendant quatre mois, le Secrétariat considère que vous cumulez 12 mois d'études de doctorat. En outre, si en plus d'avoir pris congé pendant une session, vous avez été inscrit à temps partiel pendant une session (quatre mois), le Secrétariat considère que vous aurez effectué 10 mois d'études de doctorat.

Établissement qui propose votre candidature

L'établissement qui propose votre candidature doit être doté d’un quota d’attribution de BESC Vanier.

Critères d'admissibilité pour détenir une BESC Vanier

Les BESC Vanier ne sont valables qu'au sein des établissements canadiens qui ont proposé la candidature des étudiants. Il n'y a aucune exception possible.

Pour détenir une BESC Vanier, le candidat doit :

Études à temps partiel

Les BESC Vanier peuvent être accordées à des étudiants qui sont inscrits à temps partiel en raison d'une incapacité ou d'une obligation familiale. Dans ce contexte, une incapacité est définie comme « une limite fonctionnelle résultant d'une déficience physique, sensorielle ou mentale qui, pendant une période indéfinie, altère la capacité d'un étudiant à mener les activités lui permettant de participer pleinement à son apprentissage », et on entend par obligations familiales « la principale responsabilité concernant la prestation de soins personnels à un membre de la famille à charge, par exemple, enfants d'âge préscolaire, conjoint ou parent infirme, ayant une incidence sur la capacité de l'étudiant à mener les activités nécessaires pour se consacrer à plein temps à son apprentissage ». Les BESC Vanier accordées aux étudiants à temps partiel ont la même valeur que celles offertes aux étudiants à temps plein, mais elles sont étalées sur une plus longue période.

Employés du gouvernement fédéral canadien

Les employés du gouvernement fédéral canadien peuvent détenir une BESC Vanier, à condition qu'ils prennent un congé non payé. (Aucun salaire ni aucune indemnité spéciale ne sont permis.)

Candidatures multiples

Les candidats admissibles peuvent présenter simultanément une demande au Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada et à un autre programme de bourses doctorales offert par un organisme (IRSC, CRSNG ou CRSH) au cours de la même année universitaire. Ils doivent présenter ces demandes au même organisme subventionnaire fédéral et satisfaire à tous les critères d’admissibilité afin que leur candidature soit prise en considération. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez Préciser le domaine de recherche.

Remarque : comme l’admissibilité, les critères d’évaluation et les dates limites des concours diffèrent, les demandes soumises au Programme de BESC Vanier ne sont pas considérées comme faites dans le cadre d’un concours de bourses doctorales propres à un organisme. Chaque programme doit faire l’objet d’une demande distincte.

Les candidats dont la demande est retenue aux deux concours devront choisir quelle bourse recevoir.

Choix de l'organisme subventionnaire fédéral approprié

Le projet de recherche du candidat et le programme de doctorat proposés doivent être admissibles dans le cadre du mandat de l'organisme subventionnaire fédéral auquel est présentée une candidature. En cas de doute, les établissements doivent consulter le Secrétariat avant de présenter une candidature. Cela s'applique également aux candidatures liées à des domaines de recherche interdisciplinaires ou à des secteurs de recherche qui chevauchent les mandats de plus d'un organisme subventionnaire fédéral.

Date de modification :