Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

The Government of Canada and the Vanier-Banting Secretariat is committed to ensuring that all trainees have equitable access to research funding and career support. Equity is an integral part of a sustainable research ecosystem as it encourages greater diversity amongst applicants. Studies show that diversity—not just of scientific expertise, but also the people conducting and participating in the research—leads to more creativity and more innovation.

All reviewers must reinforce standards of rigor, fairness, respect and equity, diversity and inclusion throughout the peer review process and when assessing applications should:

Applicants are thus encouraged to discuss their productivity in terms of research/leadership opportunities that were available to them in the Personal Leadership letter attachment of their application.

To better equip all those participating in the Vanier CGS competition (applicants, nominating institutions, referees, reviewers), the Tri-Agencies have curated an important list of the resources to help guide each group.

For Applicants

Promoting equity, diversity, and inclusion in research

Sex and Gender Based Analysis Plus (SGBA+) is the process by which we ensure sound equity, diversity and inclusion principles are applied to research design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of research findings. In the context of research, SGBA+ is an analytical process used to systematically examine how differences in identity factors, such as sex, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, age and mental or physical disability, affect the outcomes of research and the impacts of research findings. The purpose is to promote rigorous research that considers identity factors so that the results are impactful and relevant to the diversity of the population. Applicants must provide a strong rationale if they believe that no aspect of the proposed research’s design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of findings should take SGBA+ into consideration.

Applicants are strongly encouraged to take the Status of Women Canada’s online Introduction to Gender-Based Analysis Plus (GBA+) course

There is an increasing number of cited research examples that would have or have benefited from considering identity factors in the research design and process. A good source for such examples is CIHR’s “Impacts of integrating sex and gender in research” and the Stanford University Gendered Innovations project. These materials provide practical examples and methods for sex and gender considerations, in addition to other factors or variables that should be considered, such as biological, socio-cultural or psychological aspects of users, communities, customers, experimental subjects or cells. Research has demonstrated how not taking into consideration certain identity factors, such as race or age, can lead to failed research projects.

Resources

Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities

Note: Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities is defined as research in any field or discipline that is is conducted by, grounded in, or engages with First Nations, Inuit, Métis and/or Urban Indigenous communities, societies, and/or individuals, and their wisdom, cultures, experiences, and/or knowledge systems, as expressed in their dynamic forms, past and present.

Examples include:

  • projects in which water samples are extracted from Indigenous lands in South America
  • analyses of educational policies pertaining to Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians
  • cross-sectional studies of how injuries sustained by different groups of people, including Inuit youth, are treated

In order to be funded, research involving and engaging with Indigenous communities must fulfill the pillars for respectful research engaging with Indigenous peoples.

Reducing unconscious bias

For Nominating Institution

Reducing unconscious bias

Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities

Note: Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities is defined as research in any field or discipline that is conducted by, grounded in, or engages with First Nations, Inuit, Métis and/or Urban Indigenous communities, societies, and/or individuals, and their wisdom, cultures, experiences, and/or knowledge systems, as expressed in their dynamic forms, past and present.

Examples include:

  • projects in which water samples are extracted from Indigenous lands in South America
  • analyses of educational policies pertaining to Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians
  • cross-sectional studies of how injuries sustained by different groups of people, including Inuit youth, are treated

In order to be funded, research involving and engaging with Indigenous communities must fulfill the pillars for respectful research engaging with Indigenous peoples.

Promoting equity, diversity, and inclusion in research

SGBA+ is the process by which we ensure sound EDI principles are applied to research design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of research findings. In the context of research, GBA+ is an analytical process used to systematically examine how differences in identity factors, such as sex, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, age and mental or physical disability, affect the outcomes of research and the impacts of research findings. The purpose is to promote rigorous research that considers identity factors so that the results are impactful and relevant to the diversity of the Canadian population. Applicants must provide a strong rationale if they believe that no aspect of the proposed research’s design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of findings should take SGBA+ into consideration.

All stakeholders are encouraged to take the Status of Women Canada’s online Introduction to Gender-Based Analysis Plus (GBA+) course.

There is an increasing number of cited research examples that would have or have benefited from considering identity factors in the research design and process. A good source for such examples is CIHR’s “Impacts of integrating sex and gender in research” and the Stanford University Gendered Innovations project. These materials provide practical examples and methods for sex and gender considerations, in addition to other factors or variables that should be considered, such as biological, socio-cultural or psychological aspects of users, communities, customers, experimental subjects or cells. Research has demonstrated how not taking into consideration certain identity factors, such as race or age, can lead to failed research projects.

Resources

For Referees

Reducing unconscious bias

Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities

Note: Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities is defined as research in any field or discipline that is conducted by, grounded in, or engages with First Nations, Inuit, Métis and/or Urban Indigenous communities, societies, and/or individuals, and their wisdom, cultures, experiences, and/or knowledge systems, as expressed in their dynamic forms, past and present.

Examples include:

  • projects in which water samples are extracted from Indigenous lands in South America
  • analyses of educational policies pertaining to Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians
  • cross-sectional studies of how injuries sustained by different groups of people, including Inuit youth, are treated

In order to be funded, research involving and engaging with Indigenous communities must fulfill the pillars for respectful research engaging with Indigenous peoples.

Promoting equity, diversity, and inclusion in research

Sex and Gender Based Analysis Plus (SGBA+) is the process by which we ensure sound EDI principles are applied to research design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of research findings. In the context of research, GBA+ is an analytical process used to systematically examine how differences in identity factors, such as sex, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, age and mental or physical disability, affect the outcomes of research and the impacts of research findings. The purpose is to promote rigorous research that considers identity factors so that the results are impactful and relevant to the diversity of the Canadian population. Applicants must provide a strong rationale if they believe that no aspect of the proposed research’s design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of findings should take SGBA+ into consideration.

Referees are encouraged to take the Status of Women Canada online Introduction to Gender-Based Analysis Plus (GBA+) course.

There is an increasing number of cited research examples that would have or have benefited from considering identity factors in the research design and process. A good source for such examples is CIHR’s “Impacts of integrating sex and gender in research” and the Stanford University Gendered Innovations project. These materials provide practical examples and methods for sex and gender considerations, in addition to other factors or variables that should be considered, such as biological, socio-cultural or psychological aspects of users, communities, customers, experimental subjects or cells. Research has demonstrated how not taking into consideration certain identity factors, such as race or age, can lead to failed research projects.

Resources

For Reviewers and Readers

Reducing unconscious bias

Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities

Note: Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities is defined as research in any field or discipline that is conducted by, grounded in, or engages with First Nations, Inuit, Métis and/or Urban Indigenous communities, societies, and/or individuals, and their wisdom, cultures, experiences, and/or knowledge systems, as expressed in their dynamic forms, past and present.

Examples include:

  • projects in which water samples are extracted from Indigenous lands in South America
  • analyses of educational policies pertaining to Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians
  • cross-sectional studies of how injuries sustained by different groups of people, including Inuit youth, are treated

In order to be funded, research involving and engaging with Indigenous communities must fulfill the pillars for respectful research engaging with Indigenous peoples.

Promoting equity, diversity, and inclusion in research

Sex and Gender Based Analysis Plus (SGBA+) is the process by which we ensure sound equity, diversity and inclusion principles are applied to research design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of research findings. In the context of research, SGBA+ is an analytical process used to systematically examine how differences in identity factors, such as sex, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, age and mental or physical disability, affect the outcomes of research and the impacts of research findings. The purpose is to promote rigorous research that considers identity factors so that the results are impactful and relevant to the diversity of the Canadian population. Applicants must provide a strong rationale if they believe that no aspect of the proposed research’s design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of findings should take SGBA+ into consideration.

Reviewers and readers are strongly encouraged to take the Status of Women Canada’s online Introduction to Gender-Based Analysis Plus (GBA+) course.

There is an increasing number of cited research examples that would have or have benefited from considering identity factors in the research design and process. A good source for such examples is CIHR’s “Impacts of integrating sex and gender in research” and the Stanford University Gendered Innovations project. These materials provide practical examples and methods for sex and gender considerations, in addition to other factors or variables that should be considered, such as biological, socio-cultural or psychological aspects of users, communities, customers, experimental subjects or cells. Research has demonstrated how not taking into consideration certain identity factors, such as race or age, can lead to failed research projects.

Resources

Date modified:

Équité, diversité et inclusion

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à assurer à tous les stagiaires un accès équitable à du financement de recherche et à du soutien professionnel. L’équité fait partie intégrante de la viabilité de l’écosystème de recherche puisqu’elle favorise une diversité accrue chez les candidats. D’ailleurs, les études montrent que la diversité – non seulement en matière d’expertise scientifique, mais aussi des personnes participant à la recherche – contribue à davantage de créativité et d’innovation.

Le Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier) s’efforce de promouvoir l’équité et la diversité tout au long des processus de demande, d’évaluation et de sélection. Afin de mieux outiller tous les participants au concours de BESC Vanier (candidats, établissements, répondants, évaluateurs), les trois organismes ont dressé une importante liste de ressources pour guider chaque groupe.

Candidats

Promotion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion

L’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) est un processus qui permet de s’assurer que les principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion sont appliqués dans la conception de la recherche, les méthodes et l’analyse ainsi que dans l’interprétation et la diffusion des résultats de recherche. Dans le contexte de la recherche, l’ACS+ est un processus analytique utilisé pour examiner systématiquement les effets que les différences liées aux facteurs identitaires, comme le sexe, le genre, la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle, pourraient avoir sur les résultats de la recherche ainsi que sur les impacts de ces résultats. Elle vise à promouvoir des recherches rigoureuses qui tiennent compte des facteurs identitaires afin que les résultats soient percutants et pertinents pour la diversité de la population canadienne. Les candidats doivent fournir une justification convaincante s’ils croient qu’aucun aspect de la conception de la recherche, des méthodes, de l’analyse ainsi que de l’interprétation et de la diffusion des résultats ne devrait tenir compte de l’ACS+.

Les candidats sont fortement encouragés à suivre le cours en ligne sur l’ACS+ de Condition féminine Canada.

Il existe de plus en plus d’exemples de conception et de déroulement de travaux de recherche qui auraient pu tirer parti ou ont effectivement tiré parti de la prise en compte des facteurs identitaires. De tels exemples sont mentionnés dans la page Effets de l’intégration du sexe et du genre à la recherche des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et dans le projet Gendered Innovations (en anglais seulement) de l’Université Stanford. Ces documents fournissent des exemples concrets et des méthodes pour la prise en compte du sexe et du genre, en plus d’autres facteurs ou variables dont il faut tenir compte, comme les aspects biologiques, socioculturels ou psychologiques des utilisateurs, des collectivités, des clients, des sujets d’expérience ou des cellules. Des travaux ont montré que des projets de recherche peuvent échouer s’ils ne tiennent pas compte de certains facteurs identitaires, comme la race ou l’âge.

Ressources

Recherche impliquant respectueusement les communautés autochtones

Remarque : Une recherche qui implique respectueusement les communautés autochtones est définie comme une recherche réalisée dans n’importe quel domaine ou n’importe quelle discipline :

  • qui est menée par des communautés, des sociétés ou des personnes des Premières Nations, des peuples inuits ou métis ou d’autres nations autochtones; et/ou
  • qui concerne et repose sur une ou plusieurs de ces communautés et/ou leur sagesse, leurs cultures, leurs expériences ou leurs systèmes de connaissances exprimés dans des formes dynamiques, passées et actuelles.

Voici quelques exemples :

  • Projets portant sur des échantillons d’eau prélevés sur des terres autochtones en Amérique du Sud
  • Analyses des politiques éducatives relatives aux Australiens autochtones et non autochtones
  • Études transversales du mode de traitement des blessures au sein de divers groupes de personnes, y compris les jeunes Inuits

Réduction des préjugés inconscients

Établissements

Réduction des préjugés inconscients

Recherche impliquant respectueusement les communautés autochtones

Remarque : Une recherche qui implique respectueusement les communautés autochtones est définie comme une recherche réalisée dans n’importe quel domaine ou n’importe quelle discipline :

  • qui est menée par des communautés, des sociétés ou des personnes des Premières Nations, des peuples inuits ou métis ou d’autres nations autochtones; et/ou
  • qui concerne et repose sur une ou plusieurs de ces communautés et/ou leur sagesse, leurs cultures, leurs expériences ou leurs systèmes de connaissances exprimés dans des formes dynamiques, passées et actuelles.

Voici quelques exemples :

  • Projets portant sur des échantillons d’eau prélevés sur des terres autochtones en Amérique du Sud
  • Analyses des politiques éducatives relatives aux Australiens autochtones et non autochtones
  • Études transversales du mode de traitement des blessures au sein de divers groupes de personnes, y compris les jeunes Inuits

Promotion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion

L’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) est un processus qui permet de s’assurer que les principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion sont appliqués dans la conception de la recherche, les méthodes et l’analyse ainsi que dans l’interprétation et la diffusion des résultats de recherche. Dans le contexte de la recherche, l’ACS+ est un processus analytique utilisé pour examiner systématiquement les effets que les différences liées aux facteurs identitaires, comme le sexe, le genre, la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle, pourraient avoir sur les résultats de la recherche ainsi que sur les impacts de ces résultats. Elle vise à promouvoir des recherches rigoureuses qui tiennent compte des facteurs identitaires afin que les résultats soient percutants et pertinents pour la diversité de la population canadienne. Les candidats doivent fournir une justification convaincante s’ils croient qu’aucun aspect de la conception de la recherche, des méthodes, de l’analyse ainsi que de l’interprétation et de la diffusion des résultats ne devrait tenir compte de l’ACS+.

Tous les intervenants sont fortement encouragés à suivre le cours en ligne sur l’ACS+ de Condition féminine Canada.

Il existe de plus en plus d’exemples de conception et de déroulement de travaux de recherche qui auraient pu tirer parti ou ont effectivement tiré parti de la prise en compte des facteurs identitaires. De tels exemples sont mentionnés dans la page Effets de l’intégration du sexe et du genre à la recherche des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et dans le projet Gendered Innovations (en anglais seulement) de l’Université Stanford. Ces documents fournissent des exemples concrets et des méthodes pour la prise en compte du sexe et du genre, en plus d’autres facteurs ou variables dont il faut tenir compte, comme les aspects biologiques, socioculturels ou psychologiques des utilisateurs, des collectivités, des clients, des sujets d’expérience ou des cellules. Des travaux ont montré que des projets de recherche peuvent échouer s’ils ne tiennent pas compte de certains facteurs identitaires, comme la race ou l’âge.

Ressources

Répondants

Réduction des préjugés inconscients

Recherche impliquant respectueusement les communautés autochtones

Remarque : Une recherche qui implique respectueusement les communautés autochtones est définie comme une recherche réalisée dans n’importe quel domaine ou n’importe quelle discipline :

  • qui est menée par des communautés, des sociétés ou des personnes des Premières Nations, des peuples inuits ou métis ou d’autres nations autochtones; et/ou
  • qui concerne et repose sur une ou plusieurs de ces communautés et/ou leur sagesse, leurs cultures, leurs expériences ou leurs systèmes de connaissances exprimés dans des formes dynamiques, passées et actuelles.

Voici quelques exemples :

  • Projets portant sur des échantillons d’eau prélevés sur des terres autochtones en Amérique du Sud
  • Analyses des politiques éducatives relatives aux Australiens autochtones et non autochtones
  • Études transversales du mode de traitement des blessures au sein de divers groupes de personnes, y compris les jeunes Inuits

Promotion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion

L’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) est un processus qui permet de s’assurer que les principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion sont appliqués dans la conception de la recherche, les méthodes et l’analyse ainsi que dans l’interprétation et la diffusion des résultats de recherche. Dans le contexte de la recherche, l’ACS+ est un processus analytique utilisé pour examiner systématiquement les effets que les différences liées aux facteurs identitaires, comme le sexe, le genre, la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle, pourraient avoir sur les résultats de la recherche ainsi que sur les impacts de ces résultats. Elle vise à promouvoir des recherches rigoureuses qui tiennent compte des facteurs identitaires afin que les résultats soient percutants et pertinents pour la diversité de la population canadienne. Les candidats doivent fournir une justification convaincante s’ils croient qu’aucun aspect de la conception de la recherche, des méthodes, de l’analyse ainsi que de l’interprétation et de la diffusion des résultats ne devrait tenir compte de l’ACS+.

Les répondants sont fortement encouragés à suivre le cours en ligne sur l’ACS+ de Condition féminine Canada.

Il existe de plus en plus d’exemples de conception et de déroulement de travaux de recherche qui auraient pu tirer parti ou ont effectivement tiré parti de la prise en compte des facteurs identitaires. De tels exemples sont mentionnés dans la page Effets de l’intégration du sexe et du genre à la recherche des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et dans le projet Gendered Innovations (en anglais seulement) de l’Université Stanford. Ces documents fournissent des exemples concrets et des méthodes pour la prise en compte du sexe et du genre, en plus d’autres facteurs ou variables dont il faut tenir compte, comme les aspects biologiques, socioculturels ou psychologiques des utilisateurs, des collectivités, des clients, des sujets d’expérience ou des cellules. Des travaux ont montré que des projets de recherche peuvent échouer s’ils ne tiennent pas compte de certains facteurs identitaires, comme la race ou l’âge.

Ressources

Évaluateurs et lecteurs

Réduction des préjugés inconscients

Recherche impliquant respectueusement les communautés autochtones

Remarque : Une recherche qui implique respectueusement les communautés autochtones est définie comme une recherche réalisée dans n’importe quel domaine ou n’importe quelle discipline :

  • qui est menée par des communautés, des sociétés ou des personnes des Premières Nations, des peuples inuits ou métis ou d’autres nations autochtones; et/ou
  • qui concerne et repose sur une ou plusieurs de ces communautés et/ou leur sagesse, leurs cultures, leurs expériences ou leurs systèmes de connaissances exprimés dans des formes dynamiques, passées et actuelles.

Voici quelques exemples :

  • Projets portant sur des échantillons d’eau prélevés sur des terres autochtones en Amérique du Sud
  • Analyses des politiques éducatives relatives aux Australiens autochtones et non autochtones
  • Études transversales du mode de traitement des blessures au sein de divers groupes de personnes, y compris les jeunes Inuits

Promotion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion

L’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) est un processus qui permet de s’assurer que les principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion sont appliqués dans la conception de la recherche, les méthodes et l’analyse ainsi que dans l’interprétation et la diffusion des résultats de recherche. Dans le contexte de la recherche, l’ACS+ est un processus analytique utilisé pour examiner systématiquement les effets que les différences liées aux facteurs identitaires, comme le sexe, le genre, la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle, pourraient avoir sur les résultats de la recherche ainsi que sur les impacts de ces résultats. Elle vise à promouvoir des recherches rigoureuses qui tiennent compte des facteurs identitaires afin que les résultats soient percutants et pertinents pour la diversité de la population canadienne. Les candidats doivent fournir une justification convaincante s’ils croient qu’aucun aspect de la conception de la recherche, des méthodes, de l’analyse ainsi que de l’interprétation et de la diffusion des résultats ne devrait tenir compte de l’ACS+.

Les candidats sont fortement encouragés à suivre le cours en ligne sur l’ACS+ de Condition féminine Canada.

Il existe de plus en plus d’exemples de conception et de déroulement de travaux de recherche qui auraient pu tirer parti ou ont effectivement tiré parti de la prise en compte des facteurs identitaires. De tels exemples sont mentionnés dans la page Effets de l’intégration du sexe et du genre à la recherche des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et dans le projet Gendered Innovations (en anglais seulement) de l’Université Stanford. Ces documents fournissent des exemples concrets et des méthodes pour la prise en compte du sexe et du genre, en plus d’autres facteurs ou variables dont il faut tenir compte, comme les aspects biologiques, socioculturels ou psychologiques des utilisateurs, des collectivités, des clients, des sujets d’expérience ou des cellules. Des travaux ont montré que des projets de recherche peuvent échouer s’ils ne tiennent pas compte de certains facteurs identitaires, comme la race ou l’âge.

Ressources

Date de modification :