Information for nominating institutions

Memorandum

Equity, diversity, and inclusion

Nominating institutions are encouraged to consider diversity on multiple levels (e.g.,research discipline, gender, official language, cultural background, citizenship) when considering which applicants to nominate for the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS) program.

Equity and diversity must be considered at all levels of the selection/recruitment, endorsement/Nomination and review processes of a Vanier application. The Vanier-Banting Secretariat is actively engaged in promoting equity and diversity, as well as increasing awareness of implicit (or unconscious) bias with everyone involved in the selection of a Vanier Scholar. To this end, please review the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion page.

Quotas by institution

View the annual nomination quotas for the 2021 to 2023 competitions

Eligible Canadian institutions receive three-year quotas based on 600 total nominations per federal granting agency (CIHRNSERC and SSHRC). These three-year quotas have been determined for the 2021-2022, 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 competitions as follows:

The sum of (a) and (b) is calculated by the Secretariat to determine the total doctoral and CRC funding received by the nominating institution. This total is then converted to a fraction of the total doctoral and CRC funding received by all institutions. This fraction is multiplied by the three-year quota distribution of 600 to determine the final quota for each nominating institution.

Note: Vanier CGS quotas are calculated for a three year period; annual quotas are determined by dividing the three-year allocation by three. Remainders are considered “floating quotas” and can be used in any year within the three year period. Floating quotas are included in the current competition, but will only be applied where the number of nominations exceeds the number of quotas for that given year.

Eligible Canadian institutions will be provided a yearly quota within the existing three year quota allotment. Any unused annual quotas will not be carried forward. Floating quotas may be used in any of the three Fiscal Years.

Each eligible institution is assigned a separate quota from each agency for the Vanier CGS Program. For more details refer to the quota page.

NEW! Applicants who wish to self-declare themselves as an Indigenous applicant have been instructed to complete the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship (Vanier CGS): Voluntary Self-Identification Form [ PDF (147 KB) ] for Indigenous Applicants and upload it within their application. This form may be used by Research Administrators to identify self-declared Indigenous applicants.

Should the institution wish to request a quota above and beyond the institutional quota, it is the responsibility of the Research Administrators to list which applicants will be included as self-identified Indigenous applicants and send it via email to the Vanier-Banting Secretariat (vanier@cihr-irsc.gc.ca).

Application deadlines

There are two types of institutional deadlines:

Note: Substitutions for ineligible or rejected applications will not be permitted.

* “Indigenous peoples” is a collective name for the original peoples of North America and their descendants. “Aboriginal Peoples” is also sometimes used as a terminology. For the purposes of this program, the tri-agencies use the Canadian Constitution Act, 1982 definition of Aboriginal Peoples as including the First Nations, Inuk (Inuit) and Métis Peoples of Canada.

Nomination letters (maximum 2 pages)

(must follow the specifications found in the instructions provided in the Presentation standards for documents section)

Nomination letters – to be completed/signed by the Department Head nominating the candidate

Institutions must provide a nomination letter, along with the application form, for each student nominated for a Vanier CGS.

This nomination letter must be completed and signed by the Department Head nominating the candidate (equivalent or designate) and must be on the institution's letterhead. If signed by someone other than the Department Head, it should be clearly indicated in the letter that the signee has authority to nominate candidates to the Vanier CGS program.

The nomination letter should be a maximum of two pages in length, and is the Institution’s opportunity to outline for the selection committee what makes the nominee unique. It should give the committee context for the nominee’s achievements – outline how the nominee is exceptional and how the institution both fosters and benefits the student (e.g., what kind of benefits or advantages the institution will offer). Address the following points:

  1. Rationale for the choice of candidate:
  2. Research training environment:
    • Elaborate on the appropriateness of the supervisor in terms of resources, funding, publications, their research and training environment. Elaborate on the funding, facilities/resources and personnel that will be made available to support the candidate as they carry out their proposed research and develop their leadership potential.
    • Discuss how the research interests/background of the student and supervisor align with the institution’s priorities. (Ensure that claims about the uniqueness of the research environment are accurate.)
    • Elaborate on your institution’s resources regarding any established research-related policies and protocols (e.g., OCAP® for First Nations or any established protocols by Inuit and Métis Peoples of Canada; approvals for research involving the use of humans, animals or biohazards).
      • In the case of applications in which the proposed research respectfully involves and engages Indigenous communities, describe how relationships are being developed with relevant Indigenous communities to engage their collaboration in the proposed research and to promote reciprocity in terms of the benefits derived from the research process and outcomes. Describe any support provided to facilitate collaborations between the applicant, the host institution and Indigenous communities/partners.

        The following key concepts should substantiated in the supervisor’s statement:

        • Indigenous or traditional knowledge
        • Reciprocity
        • Community
        • Respect, relevance and contributions

      For more information, see our EDI page.

    • Discuss how the supervisor’s commitment will be available to support the candidate in furthering their professional and leadership development.
    • If known, comment on the research group and/or faculty with whom the candidate will interact and how the Canadian institution will support the development of the candidate's leadership potential. If unknown, address the reasons behind why the candidate has not selected a supervisor and research environment.
  3. Rationale of recruiting the candidate:
    • Outline how the institution's research environment will foster the student’s research interest and leadership skills.
    • Elaborate on the commitment from the department or university as to what kind of benefits they will offer the potential scholar.
  4. Recruitment:
    • Comment on how the institution’s nomination of the candidate promotes the recruitment of new foreign or Canadian candidates to Canadian institutions.
    • If the candidate has completed a previous degree within your institution, provide an explanation as to why it is in the candidate's best interest to stay at the same institution (i.e. research/paid institution (or its affiliate), supervisor or co-supervisor, availability of specialized equipment).
  5. Equity, Diversity and Inclusion:
    • Highlight how the candidate’s personal circumstances, including the impact of gender, race, diversity, ability, sexuality, health disparities, educational access, etc., have played a role in the student’s career path and contribute to the excellence of the candidate’s profile.
    • Comment on how the institution’s nomination of the candidate promotes the recruitment of groups underrepresented in research and on the university’s commitment to fostering equity, diversity and inclusion as part of the recruitment and nomination processes.
    • Refer to the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion section of the Vanier website for further information.

Achieving a more equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise is essential for creating the excellent, innovative and impactful research necessary to seize opportunities and for responding to global challenges.

The creation of this equitable, diverse and inclusive research community is the responsibility of every member of the community, including applicants, selection committee members, referees, institutions, and the tri-agencies.

Institutions can contribute to the tri-agencies efforts to counter systemic barriers, explicit and unconscious biases, and inequities by promoting the recruitment of groups underrepresented in sciences and by ensuring a strong level of institutional support is provided to these candidates in their application process.

The Secretariat acknowledges that certain circumstances may legitimately affect a nominee’s record of research achievement. Institutions are encouraged to highlight in the Nomination letter how the candidate’s personal circumstances have affected the student’s path and how this nomination will lead to a more equitable, diverse and inclusive research community.

Official transcripts

The nominating Institution must upload the following documents to applications being nominated to the Vanier CGS program:

  1. Official transcript
  2. Summary of international transcripts (optional)

All post-secondary transcripts must be attached to each nomination package. If these transcripts include credits earned at a college or CEGEP (college of general and professional education) that have been transferred to a university degree for credit, include the college or CEGEP transcript only if the grade earned does not appear on the university transcript. One copy of the legend (reverse of each transcript) must be included; Transcript text must be horizontal and uploaded in order from least recent to most recent.

Note 1: Certified true copies of official transcripts from the university are accepted. A certified true copy is defined as a copy of the original document (or of the original translated document if official transcript is not in either English or French). The Vanier Banting Secretariat (the Secretariat) will accept copies of official transcripts if the nominating institution certifies them as true copies.

Unofficial transcripts will be accepted from nominating institutions only for programs completed or in progress at the institution nominating the student, and only where the institution will be able to provide an official copy of the transcript upon request. Note that all transcripts must be easily legible for the selection committee, and must include the institution’s name and/or logo. Otherwise, the Secretariat will only accept official transcripts from your nominating institution.

Note 2: For institutions nominating students who will include foreign transcripts, attach a 250-word summary in a PDF document to the beginning of the transcripts, describing any variations in the grading system between the foreign institutions and the Canadian-level equivalents, and/or explaining international credentials and equivalencies.

Date modified:

Information pour les établissements qui proposent des candidatures

Note de service

Équité, diversité et inclusion

Les établissements qui proposent des candidatures sont encouragés à favoriser la diversité à divers niveaux (p. ex. pour ce qui est de la discipline, du sexe, de la langue officielle, de l’origine culturelle et de la citoyenneté) lorsqu’ils décident des candidatures à soutenir pour le Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier).

L’équité et la diversité doivent être prises en compte à toutes les étapes des processus de sélection/recrutement, de soutien des candidatures et d’évaluation des demandes de bourses Vanier. Le Secrétariat Vanier-Banting travaille activement à promouvoir l’équité et la diversité et à sensibiliser toutes les personnes qui participent à la sélection des boursiers Vanier aux préjugés implicites (ou inconscients). À cette fin, veuillez consulter la page Équité, diversité et inclusion.

Quotas aux établissements

Voir les quotas annuels pour les concours de 2021 à 2023

Les établissements canadiens admissibles reçoivent des quotas triennaux en fonction d’un total de 600 candidatures par organisme subventionnaire fédéral (le CRSH, le CRSNG et les IRSC). Les quotas triennaux ont été déterminés pour les concours 2021-2022, 2022-2023 et 2023-2024 comme suit :

La somme des deux montants est effectuée pour déterminer le financement total reçu par l’établissement qui présente des candidatures sous forme de bourses doctorales et de chaires. Ce total est ensuite converti en une fraction du financement total reçu par tous les établissements sous forme de bourses doctorales et de chaires. Cette fraction est multipliée par le quota triennal de 600 pour déterminer le quota final applicable à chaque établissement présentant des candidatures.

Remarque : Les quotas de BESC Vanier sont calculés pour une période de trois ans. Les quotas annuels sont déterminés en divisant par trois le total des attributions. Les quotas qui restent sont considérés comme des « quotas flottants » et peuvent être utilisés dans n’importe quelle année de la période de trois ans. Des quotas flottants sont inclus dans le concours actuel, mais ils ne s’appliqueront que lorsque le nombre de mises en candidature excède le nombre de quotas pour l’année en question.

Les établissements canadiens recevront un quota annuel dans le cadre de l’attribution sur trois ans. Aucun quota annuel inutilisé ne sera reporté à des années ultérieures. Les quotas flottants peuvent être utilisés dans n’importe quelle année des trois années financières.

Chacun des établissements admissibles se verra attribuer un quota distinct par chaque organisme dans le cadre du Programme de BESC Vanier. Pour obtenir des précisions, consultez la page sur les quotas.

Rappel! Les établissements peuvent nommer des candidats qui s'identifient comme Autochtones (Première Nation, Inuit et/ou Métis) sans que ces nominations soient prises en compte dans leur quota.

Les personnes qui souhaitent s’identifier comme candidats autochtones (Premières Nations, Inuits et/ou Métis) doivent remplir le Formulaire d’auto-identification volontaire pour les candidats autochtones du Programme de BESC Vanier [PDF (147 Ko)] et le joindre à leur candidature. Les administrateurs de recherche pourraient se servir du formulaire pour identifier les candidats autochtones.

Si l’établissement souhaite identifier des candidats autochtones, l’administrateur de recherche doit envoyer une liste de candidats s’identifiant comme Autochtones (Agence/nom) au Secrétariat Vanier-Banting (vanier@cihr-irsc.gc.ca).

Dates limites de présentation des candidatures

Le concours comporte deux dates limites pour les établissements :

Remarque : Le remplacement de demandes jugées inadmissibles ou refusées est interdit.

* Le terme « Autochtones » désigne les premiers peuples d’Amérique du Nord et leurs descendants. Dans le cadre de ce programme, les trois organismes reprennent la définition du terme « peuples autochtones du Canada » dans la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, qui inclut les Indiens (Premières Nations), les Inuits et les Métis du Canada.

Lettres de mise en candidature (maximum de 2 pages)

(Cette pièce jointe doit respecter les lignes directrices énoncées dans les Normes de présentation des documents joints)

Lettres de mise en candidature : à remplir et à signer par le chef de département proposant le candidat

Les établissements doivent produire une lettre de mise en candidature, accompagnée d’un formulaire de demande, pour chaque étudiant proposé pour une BESC Vanier.

Cette lettre de mise en candidature doit être remplie et signée par le chef de département (ou par une personne occupant un poste équivalent ou un remplaçant désigné) proposant le candidat, et porter l’en-tête de l’établissement. Si le document est signé par une personne autre que le chef de département, il doit être clairement stipulé dans la lettre que le signataire a l’autorité de proposer des candidats au Programme de BESC Vanier.

La lettre de mise en candidature ne doit pas excéder deux pages. Elle offre à l’établissement l’occasion de présenter au comité de sélection ce qui rend le candidat unique. Il s’agit de l’objectif principal de la lettre de mise en candidature.

La lettre doit mettre en valeur les raisons qui ont motivé le choix du candidat. Elle donnera au comité une idée des réalisations du candidat, parlera du caractère exceptionnel du candidat et expliquera comment l’établissement profite à l’étudiant et favorise son développement (p. ex. quels types de bénéfices ou d’avantages l’établissement offrira). La lettre doit faire état des points suivants :

  1. Raisons qui ont motivé le choix du candidat :
  2. Milieu de formation en recherche :
    • Décrivez en quoi le choix du directeur de recherche est approprié sur les plans des ressources, du financement, des publications, et autres résultats de la recherche et du milieu de la formation et de la recherche, notamment la contribution financière, les installations, les ressources et le personnel mis à la disposition du candidat pour l’aider à mener à bien la recherche proposée et développer son potentiel de leadership.
    • Expliquez en quoi les intérêts et les antécédents de recherche de l’étudiant et du directeur de recherche cadrent avec les priorités de l’établissement. (Assurez-vous que la revendication sur le caractère unique du milieu de la recherche est exacte.)
    • Précisez quelles sont les ressources de votre établissement concernant les politiques et protocoles préétablis en matière de recherche (p. ex., les principes PCAPMD des Premières Nations ou les protocoles établis par les Inuits ou les Métis du Canada; les autorisations en matière de recherche qui comprennent des humains, des animaux ou des biorisques).
      • Dans le cas des demandes où la recherche proposée implique respectueusement les communautés autochtones, décrivez comment les relations sont établies avec les communautés concernées afin d’obtenir leur collaboration à la recherche proposée et de promouvoir la réciprocité pour ce qui est des avantages retirés du processus de recherche et des résultats de la recherche. Décrivez tout soutien offert pour favoriser la collaboration entre le candidat, l’établissement qui propose la candidature et les communautés/partenaires autochtones.

        La prise en compte des concepts clés suivants doit être démontrée dans la déclaration du directeur de recherche :

        • Connaissances autochtones ou traditionnelles
        • Réciprocité
        • Communauté
        • Respect, pertinence et contributions

      Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la page sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion.

    • Expliquez comment le directeur s’engage à se libérer pour aider le candidat à faire progresser sa carrière et son leadership.
    • Si possible, décrivez la faculté ou le groupe de recherche avec lequel le candidat aura l’occasion d’établir des rapports et en quoi l’université canadienne appuiera le candidat dans le développement de son potentiel de leadership. Sinon, précisez les raisons pour lesquelles le candidat n’a pas sélectionné de directeur ni de milieu de recherche.
  3. Justification de recruter le candidat :
    • Expliquez comment le milieu de recherche de l’établissement favorisera les intérêts de recherche et les compétences en leadership de l’étudiant.
    • Décrivez l’engagement du département ou de l’université quant aux avantages qu’il ou elle offrira au boursier potentiel.
  4. Recrutement :
    • Indiquez en quoi la candidature proposée par l’établissement favorise le recrutement de nouveaux candidats canadiens ou étrangers au sein d’établissements canadiens.
    • Si le candidat proposé a obtenu un diplôme de votre établissement, expliquez les raisons pour lesquelles il est dans l’intérêt du candidat de poursuivre ses études au même établissement (c.-à-d. établissement payé/de recherche ou affilié, directeur ou codirecteur de recherche, accès à du matériel spécialisé).
  5. Équité, diversité et inclusion :
    • Mettez en valeur la façon dont la situation personnelle du candidat (y compris en ce qui touche le genre, la race, la diversité, la capacité, la sexualité, les disparités en santé, l’accès à l’éducation, etc.) a contribué à façonner son parcours et rehausse l’excellence de son profil.
    • Expliquez la manière dont la mise en candidature de cette personne favorise le recrutement de personnes faisant partie de groupes sous-représentés en recherche, et commentez l’engagement de l’université à favoriser l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans le cadre des processus de recrutement et de mise en candidature.
    • Reportez-vous à la section Équité, diversité et inclusion sur le site Web Vanier pour de plus amples renseignements.

La création d’un milieu de la recherche équitable, diversifié et inclusif au Canada est essentielle à la conduite de travaux de recherche inédits, de qualité exceptionnelle et susceptibles de générer des retombées, qui permettront de saisir des occasions et de résoudre des problèmes mondiaux.

Pour ce faire, il incombe à tous les membres du milieu d’y mettre du sien, y compris les candidats, les membres des comités de sélection, les répondants, les établissements et les trois organismes.

Les établissements peuvent contribuer aux efforts des trois organismes pour lutter contre les obstacles systémiques, les préjugés explicites et inconscients, ainsi que l’iniquité en favorisant le recrutement de personnes faisant partie de groupes sous-représentés en sciences et en veillant à offrir un appui solide aux candidats issus de ces groupes dans le processus de demande.

Le Secrétariat Vanier-Banting reconnaît que certaines circonstances peuvent véritablement avoir une incidence sur le dossier des réalisations de recherche d’un candidat. Il invite donc les établissements à mettre en valeur dans la lettre de mise en candidature la façon dont la situation personnelle du candidat a influé sur son parcours et à expliquer la manière dont la mise en candidature favorisera l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans le milieu de la recherche.

Relevés de notes officiels

L’établissement doit inclure les documents suivants dans les dossiers de candidature qu’il soumet au Programme de BESC Vanier :

  1. Relevés de notes officiels
  2. Résumé des relevés de notes de l’étranger (facultatif)

Tous les relevés de notes postsecondaires doivent être inclus dans le dossier de candidature. Si les relevés comprennent des crédits obtenus dans un collège ou un cégep (collège d’enseignement général et professionnel) convertis en crédits universitaires, prière d’inclure les relevés du collège ou du cégep uniquement si les équivalences n’apparaissent pas dans le relevé universitaire. Une copie de la légende de chaque relevé (verso du relevé) doit être comprise; le texte du relevé doit être à l’horizontale et doit être téléchargé en ordre chronologique.

Remarque 1 : Les copies certifiées conformes des relevés de notes officiels de l’université seront acceptées. Une copie certifiée conforme se définit comme une copie d’un document original (ou de la traduction d’un document original, si le relevé officiel n’est pas rédigé en anglais ou en français). Le Secrétariat Vanier-Banting (le Secrétariat) acceptera les copies des relevés de notes officiels si l’établissement qui propose la candidature certifie qu’elles sont des copies conformes.

Les relevés de notes officieux seront acceptés des établissements proposant une candidature, seulement pour les programmes terminés ou en cours à l’établissement en question, et seulement si l’établissement sera en mesure de fournir un relevé de notes officiel sur demande. Tous les relevés doivent être lisibles pour le comité de sélection et doivent inclure le nom ou le logo de l’établissement. Autrement, le Secrétariat n’acceptera que les relevés officiels de la part de l’établissement proposant votre candidature.

Remarque 2 (RÉVISÉE) : Les établissements proposant la candidature d’étudiants qui joignent un relevé de notes de l’étranger doivent inclure un résumé de 250 mots en format PDF au début du relevé qui décrit les différences entre le système de notation de l’établissement étranger et celui d’établissements canadiens équivalents, ou qui explique les titres et diplômes de l’étranger en précisant leurs équivalents canadiens.

Date de modification :