Information for referees

The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship (Vanier CGS) program provides funding to world-class doctoral nominees, both nationally and internationally, who will positively contribute to the country's economic, social and research-based growth. For more information about the program, refer to the About Us section of our website.

The objectives of the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship program are to:

Nomination for this scholarship includes an assessment from two (2) academic referees. Refer to the application/nomination instruction for more details.

Referee assessment

Vanier CGS nominations are reviewed by one of three multidisciplinary selection committees based on broad discipline areas: Health (CIHR), Natural Sciences and/or Engineering (NSERC), or Social Sciences and Humanities (SSHRC).

Selection committee members consider referee assessments as part of their overall review and to corroborate their own evaluation of the application. Since referee assessments play a critical role in the review process, referees should be mindful of using them to evaluate (versus advocate for) the nomination. There are three parts to their assessment:

  1. Academic excellence
  2. Research potential
  3. Leadership (Potential and Demonstrated Ability)

Since the selection committees are multidisciplinary in nature, providing evidence and examples to support the assessment in comparison to normal expectations for PhD students in the research area(s) is very useful. For example, it would be useful to:

The following instructions are provided to referees for completing the assessment in ResearchNet:

Note:

It is the applicant’s responsibility to provide referees with the information that they need in order to complete their assessments.

Referees must complete all sections of the assessment online via ResearchNet. They will not be able to upload documents in ResearchNet or submit assessments off-line. Only once all sections (including the section requiring information about the referee) have been completed will the submit button be available.

Reducing unconscious bias

Biases may manifest themselves in several ways and could be based on a school of thought, fundamental versus applied or translational research, areas of research or approaches (including emerging ones), size or reputation of a participating institution, age, cultural background, language, personal factors or gender of the applicant.

Referees are cautioned against using any inappropriate judgment of an application based on such factors, and are asked to constantly guard against the possibility of implicit bias influencing their assessment or the review of the application by the selection committee.

The use of inclusive language is encouraged (e.g. “the applicant” or “they” instead of “he/she”). Referee assessments should be free from words or sentences that reflect prejudiced, stereotyped or discriminatory language of particular people or groups, or their institution.

Research has shown that, when compared to letters of recommendation for male applicants, those written for women were more likely to, among other issues, be shorter, include fewer “standout” adjectives and include more “doubt raisers.”

The use of stereotypical adjectives when describing character and skills, especially when providing a letter for a woman (e.g., avoid words like nice, kind, agreeable, sympathetic, compassionate, selfless, giving, caring, warm, nurturing, maternal, etc.) should be avoided.

Referees should consider whether their assessment unintentionally includes gaps, or doubt-raising, negative or unexplained statements (e.g., ‘might make an excellent leader’ versus ‘is an established leader’).

The Tri-agencies are actively engaged in promoting equity and diversity, as well as decreasing unconscious bias in their review processes. You must review the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion page before beginning your assessment of an application.

For research involving and engaging with Indigenous communities, see the “Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities” section of the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion page.

The following best practices and considerations should be taken into account when providing a referee assessment:

Request for an assessment

Referees will receive a request via e-mail from ResearchNet (an application platform used by the Vanier CGS program) with instructions on how to link to the assessment form. This email is automatically generated by ResearchNet, so be sure to check your spam/junk folder.

The email sent by ResearchNet will include a unique URL that allows you access to the referee form. You will not receive access to the application package; speak to the candidate to receive the information that you will need to complete this task.

If the email requesting assessment is misplaced, the student may generate another unique URL by re-sending the invitation (see Task 8 – Identify Referees in the instructions for applicants). If the student resends the invitation, or deletes and re-invites you as a referee, this action will render all previously sent URLs inactive.

Deadline for the assessment

The referee assessment must be submitted via ResearchNet no later than the Assessment Required Deadline Date displayed on the online referee assessment page. Please contact the nominee if you have any questions about the deadline.

The applicant will not be able to submit their application if the referee assessment is not received by their submission deadline.

Date modified:

Information à l’intention des répondants

Le Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier) offre du financement à des étudiants au doctorat de premier ordre, au niveau national et international, afin qu’ils contribuent à l’essor économique, social et scientifique du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le programme, consultez la section À propos de nous de notre site Web.

Les objectifs du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier sont les suivants :

Les candidatures à cette bourse doivent inclure les évaluations de deux (2) répondants universitaires. Pour de plus amples renseignements, reportez-vous aux instructions relatives aux demandes/mises en candidature.

Évaluation des répondants

Les candidatures aux BESC Vanier sont évaluées par un des trois comités de sélection multidisciplinaires par rapport à trois grandes disciplines : sciences humaines (CRSH), sciences naturelles et/ou génie (CRSNG), ou santé (IRSC).

Les membres du comité de sélection tiennent compte de l’évaluation des répondants dans leur examen global et pour corroborer leur évaluation des demandes. Comme les évaluations des répondants jouent un rôle déterminant dans le processus d’évaluation, les répondants doivent veiller à s’en servir pour évaluer la demande (et non pour plaider en faveur du candidat). L’évaluation des répondants comprend trois parties :

  1. Excellence universitaire
  2. Potentiel de recherche
  3. Leadership (compétences potentielles et manifestes)

Comme les comités de sélection sont de nature multidisciplinaire, il est très utile de fournir des exemples et des preuves pour appuyer l’évaluation par rapport aux attentes à l’égard des doctorants dans le ou les domaines de recherche. Par exemple, il serait utile :

Les directives suivantes sont données aux répondants pour la rédaction de leur évaluation dans RechercheNet :

Remarque :

Il incombe au candidat de fournir aux répondants l’information dont ils ont besoin pour remplir leur évaluation.

Les répondants doivent remplir toutes les sections de l’évaluation par l’intermédiaire de RechercheNet. Ils ne pourront pas télécharger de documents dans RechercheNet, ni soumettre leur évaluation hors ligne. Ce n’est qu’une fois que toutes les sections (y compris celle demandant des renseignements à propos du répondant) auront été remplies que le bouton Soumettre sera actif.

Fournir une évaluation à titre de répondant

Les pratiques exemplaires et considérations suivantes doivent être prises en compte lorsqu’on vous demande de fournir une évaluation à titre de répondant :

Réduire les préjugés inconscients

Les préjugés peuvent se manifester de diverses façons et reposer sur une école de pensée, la nature fondamentale vs la nature appliquée ou translationnelle de la recherche, les domaines de recherche ou les approches (émergentes notamment), l’envergure ou la réputation d’un établissement participant, l’âge, l’origine culturelle, la langue, des facteurs personnels ou le sexe du candidat.

Nous mettons les évaluateurs en garde contre tout jugement inapproprié des demandes fondé sur de tels facteurs, et nous leur demandons de ne pas se laisser influencer par des préjugés implicites dans leur évaluation ou l’examen de la demande par le comité de sélection.

L’emploi d’un langage inclusif est fortement encouragé (p. ex. utilisation de termes collectifs et recours à des pronoms, termes et adjectifs épicènes). Le langage utilisé dans l’évaluation du répondant devrait éviter toute formulation ou expression qui véhicule des préjugés, des stéréotypes ou des propos discriminatoires envers des personnes ou des groupes ou leur établissement.

Les trois organismes subventionnaires s’emploient activement à promouvoir l’équité et la diversité et à réduire les préjugés inconscients dans leurs processus d’évaluation. Vous devez lire le contenu de la page Équité, diversité et inclusion avant d’entreprendre votre évaluation.

Demande d’évaluation

Les répondants recevront par courriel une demande de RechercheNet (plateforme de présentation des demandes utilisée par le Programme de BESC Vanier) leur expliquant comment se rendre au formulaire d’évaluation. Ce courriel est généré automatiquement par RechercheNet, alors vérifiez votre dossier de pourriels.

Le courriel envoyé par RechercheNet contient une adresse URL unique vous donnant accès au formulaire du répondant. Vous n’aurez toutefois pas accès au dossier de la demande. Vous devrez donc vous adresser au candidat pour obtenir l’information requise pour mener à bien cette tâche.

Si le courriel demandant l’évaluation est introuvable, l’étudiant peut générer une autre adresse URL unique en renvoyant l’invitation (voir la Tâche 8 – Identifier les répondants dans les instructions destinées aux candidats). Si l’étudiant renvoie l’invitation ou supprime l’invitation et envoie une nouvelle invitation, toutes les adresses URL envoyées précédemments seront désactivées.

Date limite pour l’évaluation

L’évaluation du répondant doit être soumise par RechercheNet au plus tard à la date limite indiquée dans la page du répondant. Prière de communiquer avec le candidat pour toute question sur la date limite.

Les candidats ne pourront pas soumettre leur demande si les évaluations des répondants ne sont pas reçues avant la date limite.

Date de modification :